Library

Children’s Literature

Background Information | E-Book Collections | Web Sites | Article Databases | Journals | Reading and Writing Guides

Background Information

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you get a basic understanding of folk and fairy tale tropes, literary terms, and critical theories. Literature companions and guides can provide you with a general overview of literature for children, historical and cultural contexts, and author information. You can use these select library resources to begin your research, and to get more ideas or information on your topic.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • The Children's Literature Dictionary: PN 1008.5 L38 2002
  • The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature: REF PN 1008.5 C66 2001
  • Encyclopedia Mythica: Online at pantheon.org
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes: PN1009 A1 L44 2008

Companions and Guides

  • Children's Literature: A Reader's History from Aesop to Harry Potter: PN1009 A1 L44 2008
  • Early Children's Books and Their Illustration: PN 1009 A1 P52
  • The Great Fairy Tale Tradition: PN 6071 F15 G74 2001
  • The Oxford Book of Children's Verse: PN 6110 C4 O529
  • The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature: REF PN 1008.5 C37
  • The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales: PN 3437 O94 2000
  • The Oxford Guide to Literary Britain and Ireland: Online at OxfordReference.com
  • Through the Eyes of a Child: An Introduction to Children's Literature: PN1009 A1 N68 2003

| top of page |

E-Book Collections

E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature, browse these collections to read texts online, flip through digital picture books, or listen to story readings.

Web Sites

There is a wealth of valuable material on folklore, fairy tales and Children's Literature available online. These select web sites contain useful links, book reviews, author interviews and more.

| top of page |

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles, literary criticism, book reviews, newspaper articles and more. Recommended databases include:

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |

Journals

These are just a few of the Children's Literature journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. If you are interested in a specific genre, time period, or author there may be a journal here for you. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

Reading and Writing Guides

Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.

  • Literature and the Writing Process (Canadian Edition):PE 1417 L58 2005
  • The Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition):PE 1408 R44 2002
  • Writing about Literature:PE 1479 C7 R63 2006
  • Writing Essays about Literature: A Guide and Style Sheet:PN 83 G72 2006

| top of page |