These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of the history of Western Civilization. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic or time period.
- A Brief History of the Western World CB 2454 G74 2002
- Civilizations: Culture, Ambition and the Transformation of Nature CB151 F47 2001
- A History of Western Society CB 245 M265 2003
- The No-Nonsense Guide to World History D 23 B72 2001
These period-specific reference works contain entries on important people, places and events in history.
- Dictionary of Medieval Civilization CB 351 D24
- Dictionary of World History D 9 D54 1973
- href="http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199567638.001.0001/acref-9780199567638">The Oxford Companion to British History <aONLINE
- The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization ONLINE
- The Oxford Companion to Military History ONLINE
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History HQ 1121 O93 2008
- The Oxford Companion to World Exploration ONLINE
- The Oxford Companion to World War II ONLINE
Historical maps and atlases can help you to visualize the course of history by illustrating changing geopolitical boundaries, trade and migration routes, battle sites, and more.
- Atlas of Classical History G 1033 A833 1988
- Atlas of Western Civilization G 1030 M42 1960 (oversize section)
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations ONLINE
- Euratlas: History and Geography of Europe and the World ONLINE
- TimeMap of World History ONLINE
E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature and primary-source documents, browse these collections to read texts online or to download free books to your computer or e-reader.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
- Historical Text Archive
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
- Project Gutenberg
- World Wide Web Virtual Library
There is a wealth of valuable material on the history of Western Civilization available online. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, interactive timelines, games and quizzes, digital image collections and more.
- Euro Docs: Online Sources for European History
- History World
- National Geographic Archaeology
- Voice of the Shuttle History Links
- WebChron: The Web Chronology Project
- Wonders: Images of the Ancient World
Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles on all areas of the history of Western Civilization. Recommended databases include:
More databases can be found at: Research databases > History
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
These are just a few of the Western Civilization-related journals that you can access through Selkirk College Library. If you are interested in a specific time period, event, or theme, there may be a journal here for you. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.
- Classical Antiquity
- European History Quarterly
- Greek, Roman and Byzantine Studies
- Journal of Hellenic Studies
- Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
- Journal of Modern History
- Journal of Social History
- Renaissance and Reformation
- World War II
Reading and Writing Guides
Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.
- Chicago Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINE
- The Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition) PE 1408 R44 2002
- A Short Guide to Writing about History D 13 M26 2005
- University of Toronto Guide to Writing about History ONLINE