History of the First Nations of Canada
These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of the history of the First Nations of Canada. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic, time period, or geographical area.
- Aboriginal Peoples of Canada: A Short Introduction E 78 C2 A149 2002
- Canada's First Nations: A History of Founding Peoples from Earliest Times E 78 C2 D535 2002
- First Peoples in Canada E 78 C2 M255 2004
- A History of the Native People of Canada (3 volumes) E 78 C2 W952 2006
- I Have Lived Here Since the World Began: An Illustrated History of Canada's Native People E 78 C2 R39 2005
- Native American History for Dummies E 77 L73 2008
These reference works contain entries on First Nations mythology, bands and tribes, and significant people, places, and events. For language help, please see the terminology and pronunciation guides.
- Encyclopedia Mythica: Native American Mythology ONLINE
- Encyclopedia of Native Tribes of North America E 76.2 J64 2007
- Handbook of North American Indians REF E 76.2 H36
- The Oxford Companion to Canadian History ONLINE
- Pronunciation Guide to First Nations in British Columbia ONLINE
- Words First: An Evolving Terminology Relating to Aboriginal Peoples in Canada ONLINE
Maps can help you to understand First Nations history and culture by providing illustrations of community / tribal boundaries, language regions, population distributions and more. The University of British Columbia's excellent guide to Aboriginal Maps includes links to First Nations language maps, population maps, treaty maps, and other useful mapping resources.
E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature and primary-source documents, browse these collections to read texts online or to download free books to your computer or e-reader.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
- Index of Native American Electronic Text Resources on the Internet
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project: Canada
There is a wealth of valuable material available online on the history of the First Nations of Canada. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, timelines, digital image collections and more.
- Aboriginal Timeline Index
- First Nations Historical Timeline
- University of Saskatchewan iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool
- Canadiana: Digital Archives and Collections
- Library and Archives Canada: Aboriginal Resources and Services
- Directory of Open Access Journals
Look beyond the library catalogue to find images, documents, scholarly articles and more on all areas Canadian history.
More databases can be found at: Research databases > History
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
These are just a few of the Canadian History-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Scholarship
- B.C. Studies
- Canadian Historical Review
- Canadian Journal of Native Studies
- Kahtou: The Voice of B.C. First Nations
- Native American Connections
- Native Studies Review
- Wicazo Sa Review
Reading and Writing Guides
Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.
- Chicago Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINE
- The Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition) PE 1408 R44 2002
- A Short Guide to Writing about History D 13 M26 2005
- University of Toronto Guide to Writing about History ONLINE
- | top of page |