Latin American History
These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of the history of Latin America. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic or time period.
- Born in Blood and Fire: A Concise History of Latin America F 1410 C4397 2001
- The Cambridge History of Latin America (2 vol.) F 1410 C1834 1984
- The Epic of Latin America F 1410 C76 1992
- The Penguin History of Latin America F 1410 W54 1992A
Reference Works and Readers
These general and country-specific reference works contain entries and essays on important people, places and events in Latin American history.
- The Argentina Reader: History, Culture, Society F 2810 A646 2002
- The Brazil Reader: History, Culture, Politics F 2521 B768 1999
- The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture F 1408.3 C36 2004
- The Cuba Reader: History, Culture, Politics F 1776 C85 2003
- Encyclopedia of Cuba ONLINE
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (5 volumes) REF F1406 E536 1996
- Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History F 1234 C67 2004
- The Oxford Companion to World Exploration ONLINE
- The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History F 1410O95 2011
- The Peru Reader: History, Culture, Politics F 3531 P478 2005
Historical maps and atlases can help you to visualize the course of history by illustrating changing geopolitical boundaries, trade and exploration routes, historical landmarks, and more.
- Historical Atlas of Latin America F 1408 W66 1967
- University of Portsmouth Old Maps Online ONLINE
- University of Texas at Austin: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Mexico and South America ONLINE
E-books are available from Selkirk College Library. For more e-literature and primary-source documents, browse these collections to read texts online or to download free books to your computer or e-reader.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
- Digital Book Index: Latin American History
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
- World Wide Web Virtual Library
There is a wealth of valuable material on the history of Latin America available online. These select web sites contain links to primary- and secondary-source document collections, interactive timelines, games and quizzes, digital image collections and more.
- History World
- National Geographic Archaeology
- WebChron: The Web Chronology Project
- Voice of the Shuttle History Links: Latin America and Mexico
Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles. Recommended databases for Latin America history include:
More databases can be found at: Research databases > History
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases
These are just a few of the Latin America-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.
- Canadian Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Studies
- Colonial Latin American Review
- Delaware Review of Latin American Studies
- The Hispanic American Historical Review
- Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies
- Latin American Perspectives
- Latin American Politics and Society
- Mexican Studies
Reading and Writing Guides
Reading and writing guides are available in the library for you to use during every stage of the research and writing process. Take a look if you want to improve your critical thinking, reading, and writing skills.
- Chicago Style: Research and Documentation Online ONLINE
- The Prentice-Hall Guide for Student Writers (Canadian Edition) PE 1408 R44 2002
- A Short Guide to Writing about History D 13 M26 2005
- University of Toronto Guide to Writing about History ONLINE