Library

Renewable Energy Technology

Background Information | Books and E-Resources | Article Databases | Journals | Websites | Research and Writing Guides

Background Information

These select sources are intended to give the reader a general overview of aspects of Renewable Energy Technology. Please check the Library catalogue or browse the shelves for more print resources specific to your topic.

You may also want to see some of the other Selkirk College Library Environment and Geomatics subject guides for more information.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Directories

  • Canadian Environmental Resource Guide TD 171.5 C2 C3 2012 / 2013 (Reference)
  • Dictionary of Energy TJ 163.16 D53 2006
  • A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation GE 10 P375 2008
  • The Encyclopedia of Earth ONLINE
  • Green Building A to Z: Understanding the Language of Green Building TH 880 Y83 2007

General Works

Renewable Energy Technology for the Home

  • Electrical Engineering 101 TK 146 A75 2009
  • Got sun? Go solar! TK 1087 E95 2005
  • The Homeowner's Guide to Renewable Energy TJ 808 C44 2006
  • Microhydro: Clean Power from Water TK 1081 D38 2004
  • Photovoltaics: Design and Installation Manual TK 1087 P565 2004
  • Power from The Wind: A Practical Guide to Small-Scale Energy Production TJ 820 C54 2009
  • The Renewable Energy Handbook: The Updated Comprehensive Guide to Renewable Energy and Independent Living TJ 808.3 K46 2009
  • Solar Water Heating TH 7413 R364 2006

Small-Scale Construction / Green Home Design

  • The Hybrid House: Designing with Sun, Wind Water and Earth NA 7117.3 W36 2010
  • Keeping the Heat In TJ 163.5 D86 K44 2004
  • Little House on a Small Planet NA 7117.5 S35 2006
  • Passive Solar Architecture: Heating, Cooling, Ventilation, Daylighting and More Using Natural Flows TH 7413 B345 2010
  • The Small House Book NA 7533 S53 2009

Carbon Footprint Calculators

Data and Statistics

Maps

| top of page |

Books and E-Resources

The Selkirk College Library has many books, e-books, and streaming videos on the subject of Renewable Energy Technology. When searching the library catalogue, it may be useful to start with search terms such as:

  • Biomass
  • Clean energy
  • Energy conservation
  • Energy and environment
  • Energy industries
  • Energy policy
  • Fossil fuels
  • Geothermal
  • Hydro energy
  • Nuclear energy
  • Oil and gas
  • Renewable energy
  • Solar energy
  • Wind energy

When browsing the library shelves, remember that the Renewable Energy Technology-related materials will be in a variety of locations. You may want to browse these sections for books on earth sciences, ecology, hydrology, wildlife conservation and more.

  • GE 1 - 350: Environmental sciences / Environmental policy
  • HD 9502 - 9502.5: Energy industries. Energy policy. Fuel trade
  • NA 4100 - 8480: Architecture and design / Domestic architecture
  • TH 1 - 9745: Building construction / Environmental engineering
  • TJ 163.13 - 163.25: Power resources
  • TJ 163.26 - 163.5: Energy conservation
  • TJ 807 - 830: Renewable energy sources
  • TK 1001 - 1841: Independent energy production
  • TP 315 - 360: Fuel

| top of page ||

Article Databases

Search article databases to find journal & magazine articles.  Recommended databases for Renewable Energy Technology include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Environment  |  Sciences

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

Journals

These are just a few of the many Renewable Energy Technology-related journals that you can access online or through Selkirk College Library. Click on the links to find out where you can access these journals.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to aid you in your learning and research. You can also find links below to government agencies and non-profit organizations.

Conservation and Protection Organizations

Government Sites

Industry

Professional Organizations