English as a Second Language
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
These are just a few of the dictionaries and encyclopedias available in the Library or online. Please check the Library catalogue for more English language guides.
- Oxford English Dictionary (Online)
- Oxford Canadian Dictionary / PE 3235 C362 2006
- Oxford Canadian Thesaurus of Current English / PE 3233 O94 2006
- Oxford Collocations / PE 1689 O9 2002
- Practical English Usage PE 1106 S94 2005
Search the Library catalogue to find books for readers of English as a Second Language. Many of our EASL readers can be found under the call number "PE" in the Library's general collection. Novels are also in the general collection, under the letters "PZ".
Below are links to online articles and stories for EASL students.
- English-Online (news articles and articles by subject) ONLINE
- ESL Reading (short stories, articles, and learning strategies) ONLINE
- News in Levels (news articles sorted by language level) ONLINE
Writing and Grammar
These are just a few of the many writing and grammar guides available in the Library or online.
- HyperGrammar (University of Ottawa Writing Centre) ONLINE
- Longman Grammar of Spoken and Written English PE 1112 L66 1999
- Longman Student Grammar of Spoken and Written English PE 1112 L6 2002
- Purdue Online Writing Lab: Grammar for ESL Students ONLINE
- The Penguin Dictionary of English Grammar PE 1097 T73 2000
To improve your English listening skills, check out these websites to listen to English lessons online, podcasts, short stories, news broadcasts and more.
- Arlyn Freed's ESL/EFL Listening Resources ONLINE
- CBC Podcasts ONLINE
- English as a Second Language Podcast ONLINE
- ESL Listening and Speaking ONLINE
- Randall's ESL Cyber Listening Lab ONLINE
These are just a few of the many English language testing guides available at the Selkirk College Library. Please check the Library catalogue for more guides.
- Barron's IELTS (2nd edition) PE 1128 L6436 2010
- IELTS: Offical Examination Papers from University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations PE 1128 C3283 2009
- Kaplan IELTS (2nd edition) PE 1128 I38 2011
- The LPI Workbook (2nd edition) PE 1128 P74 2009
- Preparing to Write the LPI PE 1128 P74 2010
- TOEFL iBT (4th edition) PE 1128 T634 2009
- The Official Guide to the TOEFL Test (3rd edition) PE 1128 O44 2009
- Barron's TOEIC Practice Exams PE 1128 L657 2010
- International English Language Testing System (IELTS) ONLINE
- Language Proficiency Index (LPI) ONLINE
- Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) ONLINE
- Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC) ONLINE
There are many resources available online to help you improve your English skills.
- About.com: English as 2nd Language ONLINE
- BBC Learning English ONLINE
- Dave's ESL Cafe ONLINE
- ESL Partyland ONLINE
- Lexicool.com Online Language Dictionaries (multi-lingual) ONLINE
- OneLook Dictionary Search ONLINE
- Encyclopedia.com ONLINE
Search article databases to find magazine, newspaper & journal articles.
Practice your English by reading articles in the English language. (Use the search limiters to narrow your results by language & by publication type).
Recommended databases include:
More databases can be found at: Research databases > Language & Literature
A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage: FIND > Research Databases