Library

French

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Reading | Writing and Grammar | Listening Videos | Websites | Article Databases

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

These are just a few of the dictionaries and encyclopedias available in the Library or online. Please check the Library catalogue for more French language guides.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

| top of page |

Reading

There are many works of French literature available in the library. Please browse section PQ 1165 - PQ 3919.2 of the General Collection to find books by authors such as Duras, Baudelaire, Hugo, Proust, Rimbaud and more (both in French and in English translation).

For an introduction to literature in French, you may want to check out these books:

  • Anthologie de la Littérature Québécoise (in French) PQ 3913 A68 1996
  • Francophone Literatures (in English) PQ 3809 J33 1996

Below are links to online articles, stories and e-books for French learners.

Writing and Grammar

These are just a few of the many French writing and grammar guides available in the Library or online.

| top of page |

Listening

To improve your French listening skills, check out these books and websites to listen to French lessons online, podcasts, short stories, news broadcasts and more.

Videos

These are many French language videos, news broadcasts, and television shows available to watch for free online.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to help you improve your French skills. Click on the links to discover more about French and French-Canadian culture, history, literature and more.

Article Databases

Search article databases to find magazine, newspaper & journal articles. 

Practice your French by reading articles in the French language. (Use the search limiters to narrow your results by language & by publication type).

Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Language & Literature

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |