Library

Spanish

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias | Reading | Writing and Grammar | Listening | Videos | Websites | Article Databases

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

These are just a few of the dictionaries and encyclopedias available in the Library or online. Please check the Library catalogue for more Spanish language guides.

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias

| top of page |

Reading

There are many works of Spanish literature available in the library. Please browse section PQ 6006 - PQ 9658 of the General Collection to find books by authors such as Isabel Allende, Miguel de Cervantes, Pablo Neruda, Gabriel García Márquez, Octavio Paz and more (both in Spanish and in English translation).

For an introduction to literature in Spanish, you may want to check out these books:

  • The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel PQ 7081 C36 2005
  • Introduction to Spanish Poetry: A Dual-Language Book PQ 6176 I68 2004
  • The Penguin Book of Spanish Verse (parallel text translation) PQ 6176 C57 1988

Below are links to online articles, newspapers, books and stories for Spanish learners.

Writing and Grammar

These are just a few of the many writing and grammar guides available in the Library or online.

| top of page |

Listening

To improve your French listening skills, check out these books and websites to listen to French lessons online, podcasts, short stories, news broadcasts and more.

Videos

These are many Spanish language videos, news broadcasts, and television shows available to watch for free online.

| top of page |

Websites

There are many resources available online to help you improve your Spanish skills. Click on the links to discover more about Spanish and Latin American culture, history, literature and more.

Article Databases

Search article databases to find magazine, newspaper & journal articles. 

Practice your Spanish by reading articles in the Spanish language. (Use the search limiters to narrow your results by language & by publication type).

Recommended databases include:

More databases can be found at:  Research databases > Language & Literature

A complete list of databases can be accessed from our homepage:  FIND > Research Databases

| top of page |