Library

FAQ: Linking to Journal Articles

A Best Practices Guide for Instructors

“I would like to link to journal articles from library databases for my course. How can I do that?"

Research Databases

Search the Library databases for a articles that you’d like your students to read. PDF is the most common full text format.

Links can be embedded in Moodle or in software such as MS Word or PowerPoint.

Posting the PDF

“Can I publish the full text PDF of the article in my Moodle site?”

It depends on the licensing agreement. Currently only PDFs from EBSCO databases may be posted to Moodle. For databases from other vendors (including JSTOR, Proquest & Ovid) a persistent link should be used.

Article Citations

Copyright law requires that a full citation be provided for all articles that you use (link to or post).

Choose whichever citation style is applicable to the course:  APA, MLA, Chicago or other.

  • Databases provide suggested formatting for article citations. Look for a “Cite” link. You can cut & paste the citation into your Moodle site (be careful to replace any formatting, such as italics, that may be lost).

Review the suggested citation with a critical eye. There may be errors.

The Article URL

Best practice is to link to the article using the permanent url. Important: Do not copy the url from the browser bar. This link is not permanent. 

  • Copy the persistent link to the article (also called “permalink” or “document url” or "stable url")
  • Paste the article link into your Moodle site

Correct article URLs will begin with this prepend:  http://ezproxy.library.selkirk.ca/login?url=

Important: If the prepend is missing, paste it in front of the article URL

Sample URL:
http://ezproxy.library.selkirk.ca/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=76170486&site=ehost-live

Login to Library Resources

Users that are off campus or are using a remote device will be prompted to login to access articles.

Users must have a library account to access library resources remotely.  See the FAQ sections for students and for staff for more information.

Reference List

It is good academic practice to include a complete reference list of all the works included in your Moodle course. Remember that copyright law requires that full citations be provided. The reference list would include citations for all the articles, ebooks, streaming videos, websites etc. that you link to.

Need Help?

  • Please contact IT Services for assistance with Moodle or eCampus.
  • Please contact the Library for assistance with Library resources and document urls.

Contact the Library:

Email: reference@selkirk.ca
Phone: 250.365.1229 (or 1.888.953.1133 ext. 229)
Web: http://library.selkirk.ca/