History of Latin America
Call Numbers - Where to Find Books in the Library
- F1201-F3799 Latin America. Spanish America
- F1201-F1392 Mexico
- F1421-F1440 Central America
- F1601-F1629 West Indies
- F2201-F3799 South America
- F2251-F2299 Colombia
- F2301-F2349 Venezuela
- F2351 Guiana
- F2361-F2391 Guyana. British Guiana
- F2441-F2471 French Guiana
- F2501-F2659 Brazil
- F2661-2699 Paraguay
- F2701-F2799 Uruguay
- F2801-F3021 Argentina
- F3051-F3285 Chile
- F3301-F3359 Bolivia
- F3401-F3619 Peru
- F3701-F3799 Ecuador
Print Books
Americanos by
A premier volume in Oxford's Pivotal Moments in World History series, Americanos offers an engagingly written, compact history of the Latin American wars of independence. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1412 C48 2009ISBN: 9780195392364Publication Date: 2009-08-06
Bolivar by
An authoritative portrait of the Latin-American warrior-statesman examines his life against a backdrop of the tensions of nineteenth-century South America, covering his achievements as a strategist, abolitionist, and diplomat.
Call Number: F 2235.3 A876 2013ISBN: 9781439110195Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Born in Blood and Fire : a concise history of Latin America by
A history of Latin America spans six centuries and encompasses twenty countries as it discusses the people, events, and factors that shaped the region--including colonization, revolution, and the struggle for political and social equality. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1410 C4397 2001ISBN: 9780393050486Publication Date: 2000-12-01
A Brief History of Central America by
This is the first interpretive history of Central America by a Central American historian to be published in English. Anyone with an interest in current events in the region will find here an insightful and well-written guide to the history of its five national states—Guatemala, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1436 P4613 1989ISBN: 0520068327Publication Date: 1989-11-06
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture by
Specially-commissioned essays analyze Latin American history, politics, art and literature from the nineteenth century to the present and reveal the common heritage of pre-Columbian and colonial Latin America. Although the Portuguese and Spanish-speaking states created in the early 1820s differed greatly geographically and demographically (in ethnic composition and economic resources), they also shared distinct historical and cultural traits. A chronology and guide to further reading make this volume an invaluable introduction to the rich and varied culture of modern Latin America. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1408.3 C36 2004ISBN: 0521631513Publication Date: 2004-03-29
Che Guevara by
An accessible and well-researched biography that explores the life and ideas of an iconic revolutionary. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 2849.22 G85 C34 2010ISBN: 9781566567596Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The Condor Years by
A "compelling and shocking account" of a brutal campaign of repression in Latin America, based on interviews and previously secret documents (The Miami Herald). Throughout the 1970s, six Latin American governments, led by Chile, formed a military alliance called Operation Condor to carry out kidnappings, torture, and political assassinations across three continents. It was an early "war on terror" initially encouraged by the CIA--which later backfired on the United States. Hailed by Foreign Affairs as "remarkable" and "a major contribution to the historical record," The Condor Years uncovers the unsettling facts about the secret US relationship with the dictators who created this terrorist organization. Written by award-winning journalist John Dinges and updated to include later developments in the prosecution of Pinochet, the book is a chilling yet dispassionately told history of one of Latin America's darkest eras. Dinges, himself interrogated in a Chilean torture camp, interviewed participants on both sides and examined thousands of previously secret documents to take the reader inside this underground world of military operatives and diplomats, right-wing spies and left-wing revolutionaries. "Scrupulous, well-documented." --The Washington Post "Nobody knows what went wrong inside Chile like John Dinges." --Seymour Hersh
Call Number: F 3100 D565 2004ISBN: 1565849779Publication Date: 2005-06-01
The Conquistadors by
With startling speed, Spanish conquistadors invaded hundreds of Native American kingdoms, took over the mighty empires of the Aztecs and Incas, and initiated an unprecedented redistribution of the world's resources and balance of power. They changed the course of history, but the myth they established was even stranger than their real achievements. This Very Short Introduction deploys the latest scholarship to shatter and replace the traditional narrative. Chapters explore New World civilizations prior to the invasions, the genesis of conquistador culture on both sides of the Atlantic, the roles black Africans and Native Americans played, and the consequences of the invasions. The book reveals who the conquistadors were and what made their adventures possible.
Call Number: E 123 R387 2012ISBN: 9780195392296Publication Date: 2012-01-24
The Cuban Missile Crisis by
In The Cuban Missile Crisis: A Concise History, Don Munton and David A. Welch distill the best current scholarship on the Cuban missile crisis into a brief narrative history. The authors draw on newly available documents to provide a comprehensive treatment of its causes, events, consequences,and significance. Stressing the importance of context in relation to the genesis, conduct, and resolution of the crisis, Munton and Welch examine it from the U.S., Soviet, and Cuban angles, revealing the vital role differences in national perspectives played at every stage. While the book providesa concise, up-to-date look at this pivotal event, it also notes gaps and mysteries in the historical record and highlights important persistent interpretive disputes. The authors provide a detailed guide to the literature and film for those who wish to explore further. The Cuban Missile Crisis isideal for undergraduate courses on the 1960s, U.S. foreign policy, the Cold War, twentieth-century world history, and comparative foreign policy.
Call Number: E 841 M796 2007ISBN: 0195178602Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Unparalleled in its sweep, the Encyclopedia covers a region and a time span never before attempted in English. Its 5,300 entries over four volumes, organised in A-Z dictionary format, treat the entire territory of Spanish and Portuguese conquest and exploration in the New World from the windswept plains of Patagonia to the Alaskan harbour of Valdez to the island nations of the Caribbean. Each country is the subject of a narrative historical survey and a series of entries on its history and geography, its politics, constitutions, political parties, labour unions, and educational institutions. Cross-cultural essays elaborate the broad themes of Pan-American civilisation, the roles of women and the family, the history of African and native slavery, conquest, revolution, immigration, and political stability, the rise of industry and commerce, relations with the United States, and the exploration and protection of natural resources on two continents. The Encyclopedia is completely up-to-date and includes such controversies as the North American Free Trade Agreement and the changes in Haiti."
Call Number: REF F 1406 E536 1996ISBN: 0684192535Publication Date: 1995-12-01
Evita by
Eva Peron remains Argentina's best-known and most iconic personality, surpassing even sporting superstars such as Diego Maradona or Lionel Messi, and far outlasting her own husband, President Juan Domingo Peron himself a remarkable and charismatic political leader without whom she, as an uneducated woman in an elitist and male-dominated society, could not have existed as a political figure. In this book, Jill Hedges tells the story of a remarkable woman whose glamour, charisma, political influence and controversial nature continue to generate huge amounts interest 60 years after her death. From her poverty-stricken upbringing as an illegitimate child in rural Argentina, Peron made her way to the highest echelons of Argentinean society, via a brief acting career and her relationship with Juan. After their political breakthrough, her charitable work and magnetic personality earned her wide public acclaim and there was national mourning following her death from cancer at the age of just 33.Based on new sources and first-hand interviews, the book will seek to explore the personality and experiences of 'Evita' and the contemporary events that influenced her and were in turn influenced by her. As the first substantive biography of Eva Peron in English, this book will be essential reading for anyone interested in modern Argentinean history and the cult of 'Evita'."
Call Number: F 2849 P37 H43 2017ISBN: 9781784533274Publication Date: 2017-01-30
First World, Ha, Ha, Ha! by
The Zapatista Army emerged from the jungle on New Year's Day, 1994, and provoked a national crisis in Mexico. At a demonstration in Mexico City, over 100,000 people marched together and shouted, "First World, HA HA HA!"--a defiant declaration of solidarity with the rebels, an insurgent army of indigenous campesinos who have challenged the direction of Mexico's future. The Chiapas uprising was internationally hailed as a direct attack on the New World Order. It was a milestone in the continuing history of indigenous resistance in the Americas, and an important development in the growing worldwide struggle against global policies of economic colonization. In this collection, writers from Mexico and the United States provide the background and context for the Zapatista movement, and explore its impact, in Mexico and beyond. "Elaine Katzenberger has assembled an interesting and stimulating collection of voices from Mexico and the United States, of those in revolt and those reacting to the revolt . . . Listened to as moments of an ever wider and ever more multi-sided conversation, the voices in the book should contribute to that amplification by giving their listeners a sense of the complexity and breath of the discussion."--Harry Cleaver, Professor at University of Texas Elaine Katzenberger is a publisher and Executive Director for City Lights Booksellers and Publishers. Her edited works include fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. Some works have won awards including the American Book Award and a PEN West Award for Excellence in Publishing. Katzenberger serves on the Board of Directors of the City Lights Foundation and is on the Advisory Board of Circuit Network.
Call Number: F 1256 F57 1995ISBN: 0872862941Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Mexican Revolution: a Very Short Introduction by
The Mexican Revolution defined the sociopolitical experience of those living in Mexico in the twentieth century. Its subsequent legacy has provoked debate between those who interpret the ongoing myth of the Revolution and those who adopt the more middle-of-the-road reality of the regime after1940.Taking account of these divergent interpretations, this Very Short Introduction offers a succinct narrative and analysis of the Revolution. Using carefully considered sources, Alan Knight addresses the causes of the upheaval, before outlining the armed conflict between 1910 and 1920, explaining howa durable regime was consolidated in the 1920s, and summing up the social reforms of the Revolution, which culminated in the radical years of the 1930s. Along the way, Knight places the conflict alongside other 'great' revolutions, and compares Mexico with the Latin American countries that avoidedthe violent upheaval.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: F 1234 K653 2016ISBN: 9780198745631Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Mexico by
A concise overview of 20th- and 21st-century Mexico, this volume explores the political, economic, social, and cultural history of the world's largest Spanish-speaking country. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1234 C67 2004ISBN: 1576071324Publication Date: 2004-09-22
Nicaragua by
Nicaragua: Living in the Shadow of the Eagle details the country's unique history, culture, economics, politics, and foreign relations. Its historical coverage considers Nicaragua from pre-Columbian and colonial times as well as during the nationalist liberal era, the U.S. Marine occupation, the Somoza dictatorship, the Sandinista regime, and the conservative restoration after 1990. The thoroughly revised fifth edition features new material covering the return of Daniel Ortega as president after the election of 2006. Thomas W. Walker and new coauthor Christine J. Wade document how the more enduring reality of the country may not be the Sandinista Revolution, but how the historical and ongoing interventions by the United States--the "eagle" to the north--continue to shape Nicaraguan political, economic, and cultural life. Additionally, the new edition includes an extensively revised and updated annotated bibliography.
Call Number: F 1526 W175 2011ISBN: 9780813343877Publication Date: 2011-01-04
Nixon, Kissinger, and Allende by
In the thirty-five years since the violent overthrow of Chilean President Salvador Allende, former Secretary of State Henry Kissinger has vehemently denied U.S. involvement. Almost with the same breath, Kissinger suggests that the democratically elected Allende represented Soviet aggression in Latin America, therefore posing a threat to the United States' physical security. Newly released documents reveal the Nixon administration's efforts to undermine Allende, while indicating that Nixon and Kissinger did not believe the socialist regime in Santiago endangered the United States or even had close ties to Moscow. The White House feared that the Chilean experiment would encourage other Latin American countries to challenge U.S. hegemony. Nixon, Kissinger, and Allende explores the president's cultural and intellectual prejudices against Latin America and the economic pressures that induced action against Allende.
Call Number: F 3100 Q74 2009ISBN: 9780739126561Publication Date: 2009-12-21
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by
This Oxford Handbook surveys the large and growing field of Latin American history by bringing together the principal themes and approaches over the past three decades. Essays address indigenous peoples of the region, colonial history, independence movements, rural history, slavery and race,
European and Asian immigration, labor movements, gender and sexuality, popular religion, family and childhood, economic history, politics, and disease and medicine. The contributors include top scholars in the field. - Amazon.ca
Call Number: F 1410 O95 2011ISBN: 9780195166217Publication Date: 2010-11-05
Zapata of Mexico by
Emiliano Zapata, hero of the Mexican Revolution that overthrew the Porfirio Diaz dictatorship in 1910, died a victim of that revolution. With his call for `land and liberty', Zapata helped make and shape the revolution. The governments that followed the toppling of the Porfirio Diaz dictatorship (1877-1910), while professing a commitment to the country's campesinos (peasantry or farmworkers), fell short of meeting the demands of the zapatistas for land and political freedom. In the end, the campesino general became an outlaw in the post- revolutionary state. Ten years after he took up arms to defend the campesinos of his home state of Morelos, Zapata was assassinated by government emissaries in 1919. But his murder did not silence Zapata's Liberation Army of the South. Instead, cries of Viva Zapata emboldened the Zapatistas in their struggle to win back control of ancestral community lands. Even after the original zapatistas put away their guns, Zapata's name continued to inspire campesino militancy. Whenever campesinos have gathered to seek land or confront the State, the image and the name of Emiliano Zapata has been present. Campesino militants inevitably invoke his legacy to build support for their own causes. In the history of the campesino struggles, the memory of Zapata has never died. How this came about, and why it continues to be is the subject of this book. Zapata describes what Emiliano Zapata worked towards and what he and his companeros actually achieved in Morelos and southern Mexico between 1910 and 1920. It also includes a short account of the evolution of the ejidos and common lands of Mexico.
Call Number: F 1234 Z37 N48 1996ISBN: 1551640724Publication Date: 1997-12-09
eBooks
A Cuban City, Segregated: Race and Urbanization in the Nineteenth Century by
A microhistory of racial segregation in Cienfuegos, a central Cuban port city Founded as a white colony in 1819, Cienfuegos, Cuba, quickly became home to people of African descent, both free and enslaved, and later a small community of Chinese and other immigrants. Despite the racial, ethnic, and cultural diversity that defined the city's population, the urban landscape was characterized by distinctive racial boundaries, separating the white city center from the heterogeneous peripheries. A Cuban City, Segregated: Race and Urbanization in the Nineteenth Century explores how the de facto racial segregation was constructed and perpetuated in a society devoid of explicitly racial laws. Drawing on the insights of intersectional feminism, Bonnie A. Lucero shows that the key to understanding racial segregation in Cuba is recognizing the often unspoken ways specifically classed notions and practices of gender shaped the historical production of race and racial inequality. In the context of nineteenth-century Cienfuegos, gender, race, and class converged in the concept of urban order, a complex and historically contingent nexus of ideas about the appropriate and desired social hierarchy among urban residents, often embodied spatially in particular relationships to the urban landscape. As Cienfuegos evolved subtly over time, the internal logic of urban order was driven by the construction and defense of a legible, developed, aesthetically pleasing, and, most importantly, white city center. Local authorities produced policies that reduced access to the city center along class and gendered lines, for example, by imposing expensive building codes on centric lands, criminalizing poor peoples' leisure activities, regulating prostitution, and quashing organized labor. Although none of these policies mentioned race outright, this new scholarship demonstrates that the policies were instrumental in producing and perpetuating the geographic marginality and discursive erasure of people of color from the historic center of Cienfuegos during its first century of existence.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780817320034Publication Date: 2019-04-09
Death Is All Around Us: Corpses, Chaos, and Public Health in Porfirian Mexico City by
Late nineteenth-century Mexico was a country rife with health problems. In 1876, one out of every nineteen people died prematurely in Mexico City, a staggeringly high rate when compared to other major Western world capitals at the time, which saw more modest premature death rates of one out of fifty-two (London), one out of forty-four (Paris), and one out of thirty-five (Madrid). It is not an exaggeration to maintain that each day dozens of bodies could be found scattered throughout the streets of Mexico City, making the capital city one of the most unsanitary places in the Western Hemisphere. In light of such startling scenes, in Death Is All around Us Jonathan M. Weber examines how Mexican state officials, including President Porfirio Díaz, tried to resolve the public health dilemmas facing the city. By reducing the high mortality rate, state officials believed that Mexico City would be seen as a more modern and viable capital in North America. To this end the government used new forms of technology and scientific knowledge to deal with the thousands of unidentified and unburied corpses found in hospital morgues and cemeteries and on the streets. Tackling the central question of how the government used the latest technological and scientific advancements to persuade citizens and foreigners alike that the capital city--and thus Mexico as a whole--was capable of resolving the hygienic issues plaguing the city, Weber explores how the state's attempts to exert control over procedures of death and burial became a powerful weapon for controlling the behavior of its citizens.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780803284661Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Erased: The Untold Story of the Panama Canal by
The Panama Canal's untold history--from the Panamanian point of view. Sleuth and scholar Marixa Lasso recounts how the canal's American builders displaced 40,000 residents and erased entire towns in the guise of bringing modernity to the tropics. The Panama Canal set a new course for the modern development of Central America. Cutting a convenient path from the Atlantic to the Pacific oceans, it hastened the currents of trade and migration that were already reshaping the Western hemisphere. Yet the waterway was built at considerable cost to a way of life that had characterized the region for centuries. In Erased, Marixa Lasso recovers the history of the Panamanian cities and towns that once formed the backbone of the republic. Drawing on vast and previously untapped archival sources and personal recollections, Lasso describes the canal's displacement of peasants, homeowners, and shop owners, and chronicles the destruction of a centuries-old commercial culture and environment. On completion of the canal, the United States engineered a tropical idyll to replace the lost cities and towns--a space miraculously cleansed of poverty, unemployment, and people--which served as a convenient backdrop to the manicured suburbs built exclusively for Americans. By restoring the sounds, sights, and stories of a world wiped clean by U.S. commerce and political ambition, Lasso compellingly pushes back against a triumphalist narrative that erases the contribution of Latin America to its own history.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780674984448Publication Date: 2019-02-25
From the Galleons to the Highlands: Slave Trade Routes in the Spanish Americas by
The essays in this book demonstrate the importance of transatlantic and intra-American slave trafficking in the development of colonial Spanish America, highlighting the Spanish colonies' previously underestimated significance within the broader history of the slave trade. Spanish America received African captives not only directly via the transatlantic slave trade but also from slave markets in the Portuguese, English, Dutch, French, and Danish Americas, ultimately absorbing more enslaved Africans than any other imperial jurisdiction in the Americas except Brazil. The contributors focus on the histories of slave trafficking to, within, and across highly diverse regions of Spanish America throughout the entire colonial period, with themes ranging from the earliest known transatlantic slaving voyages during the sixteenth century to the evolution of antislavery efforts within the Spanish empire. Students and scholars will find the comprehensive study and analysis in From the Galleons to the Highlands invaluable in examining the study of the slave trade to colonial Spanish America.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780826361165Publication Date: 2020-05-01
Ladina Social Activism in Guatemala City, 1871-1954 by
Winner of the CALACS Book Prize 2021 from the Canadian Association of Latin American and Caribbean Studies Winner of the 2021 Judy Ewell Book Prize from the Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies In this groundbreaking new study on ladinas in Guatemala City, Patricia Harms contests the virtual erasure of women from the country's national memory and its historical consciousness. Harms focuses on Spanish-speaking women during the "revolutionary decade" and the "liberalism" periods, revealing a complex, significant, and palpable feminist movement that emerged in Guatemala during the 1870s and remained until 1954. During this era ladina social activists not only struggled to imagine a place for themselves within the political and social constructs of modern Guatemala, but they also wrestled with ways in which to critique and identify Guatemala's gendered structures within the context of repressive dictatorial political regimes and entrenched patriarchy. Harms's study of these women and their struggles fills a sizeable gap in the growing body of literature on women's suffrage, social movements, and political culture in modern Latin America. It is a valuable addition to students and scholars studying the rich history of the region.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780826361455Publication Date: 2020-05-01
Mastering the Law: Slavery and Freedom in the Legal Ecology of the Spanish Empire by
Explores the legal relationships of enslaved people and their descendants during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries in Spanish America Atlantic slavery can be overwhelming in its immensity and brutality, as it involved more than 15 million souls forcibly displaced by European imperialism and consumed in building the global economy. Mastering the Law: Slavery and Freedom in the Legal Ecology of the Spanish Empire lays out the deep history of Iberian slavery, explores its role in the Spanish Indies, and shows how Africans and their descendants used and shaped the legal system as they established their place in Iberoamerican society during the seventeenth century. Ricardo Raúl Salazar Rey places the institution of slavery and the people involved with it at the center of the creation story of Latin America. Iberoamerican customs and laws and the institutions that enforced them provided a common language and a forum to resolve disputes for Spanish subjects, including enslaved and freedpeople. The rules through which Iberian conquerors, settlers, and administrators incorporated Africans into the expanding Empire were developed out of the need of a distant crown to find an enforceable consensus. Africans and their mestizo descendants, in turn, used and therefore molded Spanish institutions to serve their interests.Salazar Rey mined extensively the archives of secular and religious courts, which are full of complex disputes, unexpected subversions, and tactical alliances among enslaved people, freedpeople, and the crown. The narrative unfolds around vignettes that show Afroiberians building their lives while facing exploitation and inequality enforced through violence. Salazar Rey deals mostly with cases originating from Cartagena de Indias, a major Atlantic port city that supported the conquest and rule of the Indies. His work recovers the voices and indomitable ingenuity that enslaved people and their descendants displayed when engaging with the Spanish legal ecology. The social relationships animating the case studies represent the broader African experience in the Americas during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9780817320669Publication Date: 2020-11-17
Sword of Empire: The Spanish Conquest of the Americas From Columbus to Cortés, 1492-1529 by
Sword of Empire: The Spanish Conquest of the Americas from Columbus to Cortés, 1492-1529 is, by design, an approachable and accessible history of some of the most life-altering events in the story of man. Chipman examines the contributions of Christopher Columbus and Hernando Cortes in creating the foundations of the Spanish Empire in North America. Chipman has produced a readable and accurate narrative for students and the reading public, although some information presented on Cortes cannot be found elsewhere in print and is therefore of interest to specialists in the history of Spain in America. Exclusive material from Professor France V. Scholes and the author share insights into the multi layered complexities of a man born in 1484 and named at birth Fernando Cortes. As for Columbus, born in Genoa on the Italian peninsula in 1451 and given the name Cristobal de Colon, he is a more transformative man than Cortes in bringing Western Civilization to the major Caribbean islands in the Spanish West Indies and beyond. Historians strive to present a "usable past" and the post-Columbian world is, of course, the modern world. Columbus's discoveries, those of other mariners who followed to the south in America, and still other eastward to the Asia placed the world on the path of global interdependence-both good and ill-for peoples of the world. There are no footnotes in Sword of Empire--this is narrative at its finest--but there are extensive bibliographies for each chapter that will prove useful for readers of every background.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781933337883Publication Date: 2021-06-14
Toward a Global History of Latin America's Revolutionary Left by
This volume showcases new research on the global reach of Latin American revolutionary movements during the height of the Cold War, mapping out the region?s little-known connections with Africa, Asia, and Europe.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781683401698Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
