Languages
Call Numbers - Where to Find Books in the Library
- PE1001 - PE1693 Modern English
- PE1700 - PE3602 Dialects. Provincialisms, etc.
Notable Books
-
Canadian Oxford Dictionary
by
Call Number: PE 3235 C36 2004ISBN: 9780195418163Publication Date: 2005-01-20 -
Idioms Organiser
by
Idioms practice book. Suitable for use in class or self-study. Contains 110 two-page units plus 4 review units, over 1800 idioms and a comprehensive index of idiomatic expressions. Ideal practice book for the FCE, CAE, and TOEFL exams. Includes filling-in-the-blanks, matching, and underlining exercises.
Call Number: PE 1460 W744 1999ISBN: 1899396063Publication Date: 1999-01-01 -
Nelson Canadian dictionary of the English language : an encyclopedic reference.
Call Number: PE 3235 N45 1997ISBN: 0176047263Publication Date: 1997 -
The Oxford ESL Dictionary
by
This book is the most up-to-date, complete guide to North American English for intermediate to advanced learners. Featuring shortcuts in long entries to help find the right definition quickly, this book highlights core vocabulary to enable learners to concentrate on the most frequent words. The illustrations depict difficult words or groups of related items. This book includes 32 study pages on topics of interest in North America.
Call Number: PE 1628 O86 2004ISBN: 0194316831Publication Date: 2004-06-24 -
The Penguin Dictionary of English Grammar
by
Call Number: PE 1097 T73 2000ISBN: 0140514643Publication Date: 2000-01-01
-
English Vocabulary Organiser
by
Call Number: PE 1449 G68 2001ISBN: 9781899396368Publication Date: 2000-01-01ENGLISH VOCABULARY ORGANISER is the most comprehensive vocabulary self-study book currently available. It organizes vocabulary into 100 topics and is the ideal book to recommend to all intermediate and upper level students. It will be invaluable to anyone preparing to take an English examination. - Amazon.ca -
Essential Grammar in Use with Answers
by
Call Number: PE 1128 G5 M773 2007ISBN: 9780521675802Publication Date: 2007-01-25 -
Grammar in use. self-study reference and practice for students of English Intermediate
by
This self study book consists of 133 units, each of which concentrates on a particular point of grammar. The left hand page gives the explanation while the right hand page has the exercise. Appendices list present and past tense, and regular and irregular verbs.
Call Number: PE 1128 G5 M775 2000ISBN: 052162598XPublication Date: 2000 -
Interactions One
by
Call Number: PE 1128 RW7 K577 1996ISBN: 0070349177Publication Date: 1995-11-01 -
Practical English Usage
by
Call Number: PE 1106 S94 2005ISBN: 0194420981Publication Date: 2005-07-07 -
Side by Side 2
by
New and improved version integrates conversation practice, reading, writing and listening in a fun and easy format. Vocabulary preview sections in each chapter introduce key words in picture dictionary format. "How to Say It!" lessons highlight communication strategies such as complimenting, hesitating, and apologizing. Pronunciation exercises provide models for practicing authentic pronunciation, stress, and intontation. "Side by Side Gazette" offers feature articles, fact files, vocabulary expansion, cross-cultural topics through photos, authentic listening activities, and email exchanges. Includes short answer, journal writing, filling-in-the-blank, true-false, and role playing exercises. This student book includes audio highlights.
Call Number: PE 1131 M583 2001 BK.2 NO.1ISBN: 0131119605Publication Date: 2002-10-14
-
-
Kaplan TOEFL IBT with CD-ROM
by
Provides strategies, tips, and four practice tests on CD-ROM covering listening, reading, writing, and speaking skills.
Call Number: PE 1128 T6 T634 2009ISBN: 1419550276Publication Date: 2009-08-04 -
The Official Cambridge Guide to IELTS Student's Book with Answers with DVD-ROM
by
'The official Cambridge guide to IELTS' is THE definitive guide to IELTS. It contains all you need to succeed in the exam. Skill-building exercises cover all of the question types in the exam for both the General Training and Academic modules. Our research into real IELTS candidates' exam answers - and the mistakes they make, helps you avoid the same ones! Eight official practice tests and a focus on test-taking strategy help you maximise your score. The DVD-ROM includes videos of the Speaking test, and all the listening material, including the tests, as MP3 files.
Call Number: PE 1128 T6 C86 2014ISBN: 9781107620698Publication Date: 2014-02-27 -
TOEIC Practice Exams
by
Explains how to review for the listening comprehension and reading portions of the test, and includes six full-length model tests with answer explanations.
Call Number: PE 1128 T6 L657 2010ISBN: 9780764197840Publication Date: 2010-08-01 -
Longman Preparation Series for the TOEIC(R) Test, Intermediate Course (Updated Edition), with Answer Key and Tapescript
by
Gives students the skills, strategies, and practice to increase their TOEIC scores. Audio CD includes listening comprehension review. Includes complete review tests for both listening comprehension and reading, two complete practice tests for diagnosis and to prepare students for TOEIC test conditions. Includes tapescrip
Call Number: PE 1128 T6 L645 2005ISBN: 0131933477Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
