It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the Selkirk College library catalogue for books.
Notable Book Titles
The Basic Practice of Statistics by David S. MooreThe Basic Practice of Statistics has become a bestselling textbook by focusing on how statistics are gathered, analyzed, and applied to real problems and situations--and by confronting student anxieties about the course's relevance and difficulties head on. With David Moore's pioneering "data analysis" approach (emphasizing statistical thinking over computation), engaging narrative and case studies, current problems and exercises, and an accessible level of mathematics, there is no more effective textbook for showing students what working statisticians do and what accurate interpretations of data can reveal about the world we live in. In the new edition, you will once again see how everything fits together. As always, Moore's text offers balanced content, beginning with data analysis, then covering probability and inference in the context of statistics as a whole. It provides a wealth of opportunities for students to work with data from a wide range of disciplines and real-world settings, emphasizing the big ideas of statistics in the context of learning specific skills used by professional statisticians. Thoroughly updated throughout, the new edition offers new content, features, cases, data sources, and exercises, plus new media support for instructors and students--including the latest version of the widely-adopted StatsPortal. The full picture of the contemporary practice of statistics has never been so captivatingly presented to an uninitiated audience.
Call Number: QA 276.12 M648 2010
Publication Date: 2009
Business Statistics by Douglas Downing; Jeffrey ClarkThis updated title in Barron's Business Review series shows how to apply statistical methods to a variety of business situations in order to produce enlightening and profitable information. Topics covered include probability and hypothesis testing, random variables, polls and sampling, multiple linear regression, analyzing business data, decision theory, and more. Business Review books are designed for classroom use, but are also valuable as self-teaching volumes for businesspersons engaged in various fields. When used in college business courses, these titles make fine supplements to main textbooks. Instructors in adult education and brush-up programs often choose these books as their main classroom text. Each title includes review questions with answers.
Call Number: HF 1017 D65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Business Statistics : for contemporary decision making by Ken BlackHelp your students see the light. With its myriad of techniques, concepts and formulas, business statistics can be overwhelming for many students. They can have trouble recognizing the importance of studying statistics, and making connections between concepts. Ken Black's fifth edition of Business Statistics: For Contemporary Decision Making helps students see the big picture of the business statistics course by giving clearer paths to learn and choose the right techniques. Here's how Ken Black helps students see the big picture: Video Tutorials-In these video clips, Ken Black provides students with extra learning assistance on key difficult topics. Available in WileyPLUS. Tree Taxonomy Diagram-Tree Taxonomy Diagram for Unit 3 further illustrates the connection between topics and helps students pick the correct technique to use to solve problems. New Organization-The Fifth Edition is reorganized into four units, which will help professor teach and students see the connection between topics. WileyPLUS-WilePLUS provides everything needed to create an environment where students can reach their full potential and experience the exhilaration of academic success. In addition to a complete online text, online homework, and instant feedback, WileyPLUS offers additional Practice Problems that give students the opportunity to apply their knowledge, and Decision Dilemma Interactive Cases that provide real-world decision-making scenarios. Learn more at www.wiley.co,/college/wileyplus.
Call Number: HF 1017 B572 2008
Publication Date: 2007
Elementary Statistics in Social Research by Jack A. Levin; James Alan FoxThis text provides a streamlined and accessible introduction to statistics for students in sociology, criminal justice, political science, social work, and other social sciences. This edition of the text offers an essential and accessible overview to the introduction to social statistics. Clearly written with detailed step-by-step illustrations of statistical procedures, the text provides clear and logical explanations for the rationale and use of statistical methods of social research. Numerous end-of-chapter questions in every chapter reinforce key concepts to students.
Call Number: HA 29 L388 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Statistics by James T. McClave; Terry Sincich; William MendenhallThe Eleventh Edition of this highly-regarded introductory text emphasizes inference and sound decision-making through its extensive coverage of data collection and analysis. McClave develops statistical thinking and teaches students to properly assess the credibility of inferences-from the vantage point of both the consumer and the producer. This edition incorporates more exercises and more visual features, such as redesigned end-of-chapter summaries and an increased use of applets. This text assumes a mathematical background of basic algebra.
Call Number: QA 276.12 M4 2009
Publication Date: 2007
Statistics: A Very Short Introduction by David J. HandModern statistics is very different from the dry and dusty discipline of the popular imagination. In its place is an exciting subject which uses deep theory and powerful software tools to shed light and enable understanding. And it sheds this light on all aspects of our lives, enablingastronomers to explore the origins of the universe, archaeologists to investigate ancient civilisations, governments to understand how to benefit and improve society, and businesses to learn how best to provide goods and services.Aimed at readers with no prior mathematical knowledge, this iVery Short Introduction/i explores and explains how statistics work, and how we can decipher them.
Call Number: QA 276 H3183 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Visit the help desk or schedule an appointment with a reference librarian to discuss your research. See our contact page for details.