Library Resources for Instructors.

Assessment has provided educational institutions with information about student learning outcomes and the quality of education for many decades. But has it informed practice and been fully incorporated into the learning cycle? Conrad and Openo argue that the potential inherent in many of the new learning environments being explored by educators and students has not been fully realized. In this investigation of a variety of assessment methods and learning approaches, the authors aim to discover the tools that engage learners and authentically evaluate education. They insist that moving to new learning environments, specifically those online and at a distance, afford opportunities for educators to adopt only the best practices of traditional face-to-face assessment while exploring evaluation tools made available by a digital learning environment in the hopes of arriving at methods that capture the widest set of learner skills and attributes.

This groundbreaking book offers a down-to-earth resource for the practical application of blended learning in higher education as well as a comprehensive examination of the topic. Well-grounded in research, Blended Learning in Higher Education clearly demonstrates how the blended learning approach embraces the traditional values of face-to-face teaching and integrates the best practices of online learning. This approach has proven to both enhance and expand the effectiveness and efficiency of teaching and learning in higher education across disciplines. In this much-needed book, authors D. Randy Garrison and Norman D. Vaughan present the foundational research, theoretical framework, scenarios, principles, and practical guidelines for the redesign and transformation of the higher education curriculum. Blended Learning in Higher Education Outlines seven blended learning redesign principles Explains the professional development issues essential to the implementation of blended learning designs Presents six illustrative scenarios of blended learning design Contains practical guidelines to blended learning redesign Describes techniques and tools for engaging students

Effective Online Teaching is an essential resource that offers a clear understanding of how cognition and learning theory applies to online learning. This much-needed resource provides specific strategies for incorporating this knowledge into effective learner-centered teaching that gets results. The book includes strategies on motivation, tailored instruction, interaction,collaboration, monitoring and communication, time and information management, student concerns, and legal and ethical issues. Designed as a text for online instructors, the chapters can be used for self-directed learning or in a formal training setting in concert with the companion Training Manual and CD. "Tina Stavredes has done something sorely needed in the online teaching world --she has successfully combined solid theory and research with the practical application of instructor training.Both the book and the training manual are a 'must' for any online education organization. Bravo!"--Dr. Darcy W. Hardy, assistant vice provost for Technology Education Initiatives, University of Texas at San Antonio, and chair emerita, United States Distance Learning Association "Drawing from years of experience and solidly grounded in an understanding of the adult learner and learning, Stavredes offers dozens of helpful instructor strategies, activities, and resources to support adult learners' success in an online environment.Effective Online Teaching and its accompanying training manual is a 'must-have' set for online instructors in higher education,corporate, and government settings."--Sharan B. Merriam,professor emeritus of adult education, University of Georgia, and coauthor, Learning in Adulthood "An eminently practical book that provides clear and unpretentious explanations of the learning theories that are essential knowledge for every online teacher, together with equally uncluttered and easy-to-follow guidance about how to apply this knowledge to achieve excellent teaching."--Michael Grahame Moore, Distinguished Professor of Education, The Pennsylvania State University, and editor, The American Journal of Distance Education

Learn to design interest-provoking writing and critical thinking activities and incorporate them into your courses in a way that encourages inquiry, exploration, discussion, and debate, with Engaging Ideas, a practical nuts-and-bolts guide for teachers from any discipline. Integrating critical thinking with writing-across-the-curriculum approaches, the book shows how teachers from any discipline can incorporate these activities into their courses. This edition features new material dealing with genre and discourse community theory, quantitative/scientific literacy, blended and online learning, and other current issues.

It started with a simple observation: Students need their teachers present to answer questions or to provide help if they get stuck on an assignment; they don't need their teachers present to listen to a lecture or review content. From there, Jonathan Bergmann and Aaron Sams began the flipped classroom: Students watched recorded lectures for homework and completed their assignments, labs, and tests in class with their teacher available. What Bergmann and Sams found was that their students demonstrated a deeper understanding of the material than ever before. This is the authors' story, and they're confident it can be yours too.Learn what a flipped classroom is and why it works, and get the information you need to flip a classroom. You'll also learn the flipped mastery model, where students learn at their own pace, furthering opportunities for personalized education. This simple concept is easily replicable in any classroom, doesn't cost much to implement, and helps foster self-directed learning. Once you flip, you won't want to go back!

Even on good days, teaching is a challenging profession. One way to make the job of college instructors easier, however, is to know more about the ways students learn. How Humans Learn aims to do just that by peering behind the curtain and surveying research in fields as diverse as developmental psychology, anthropology, and cognitive neuroscience for insight into the science behind learning. The result is a story that ranges from investigations of the evolutionary record to studies of infants discovering the world for the first time, and from a look into how our brains respond to fear to a reckoning with the importance of gestures and language. Joshua R. Eyler identifies five broad themes running through recent scientific inquiry--curiosity, sociality, emotion, authenticity, and failure--devoting a chapter to each and providing practical takeaways for busy teachers. He also interviews and observes college instructors across the country, placing theoretical insight in dialogue with classroom experience.

50 Techniques for Engaging Students and Assessing Learning in College Courses Do you want to: Know what and how well your students are learning? Promote active learning in ways that readily integrate assessment? Gather information that can help make grading more systematic and streamlined? Efficiently collect solid learning outcomes data for institutional assessment? Provide evidence of your teaching effectiveness for promotion and tenure review? Learning Assessment Techniques provides 50 easy-to-implement active learning techniques that gauge student learning across academic disciplines and learning environments. Using Fink's Taxonomy of Significant Learning as its organizational framework, it embeds assessment within active learning activities. Each technique features: purpose and use, key learning goals, step-by-step implementation, online adaptation, analysis and reporting, concrete examples in both on-site and online environments, and key references--all in an easy-to-follow format. The book includes an all-new Learning Goals Inventory, as well as more than 35 customizable assessment rubrics, to help teachers determine significant learning goals and appropriate techniques. Readers will also gain access to downloadable supplements, including a worksheet to guide teachers through the six steps of the Learning Assessment Techniques planning and implementation cycle. College teachers today are under increased pressure to teach effectively and provide evidence of what, and how well, students are learning. An invaluable asset for college teachers of any subject, Learning Assessment Techniques provides a practical framework for seamlessly integrating teaching, learning, and assessment.

Advocates for the rights of people with disabilities have worked hard to make universal design in the built environment "just part of what we do." We no longer see curb cuts, for instance, as accommodations for people with disabilities, but perceive their usefulness every time we ride our bikes or push our strollers through crosswalks. This is also a perfect model for Universal Design for Learning (UDL), a framework grounded in the neuroscience of why, what, and how people learn. Tobin and Behling show that, although it is often associated with students with disabilities, UDL can be profitably broadened toward a larger ease-of-use and general diversity framework. Captioned instructional videos, for example, benefit learners with hearing impairments but also the student who worries about waking her young children at night or those studying on a noisy team bus. Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone is aimed at faculty members, faculty-service staff, disability support providers, student-service staff, campus leaders, and graduate students who want to strengthen the engagement, interaction, and performance of all college students. It includes resources for readers who want to become UDL experts and advocates: real-world case studies, active-learning techniques, UDL coaching skills, micro- and macro-level UDL-adoption guidance, and use-them-now resources.

Through a critical discussion of the issues surrounding the design, sharing and reuse of learning activities, the second edition of Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Age examines a wide range of perspectives on effectively designing and delivering learning activities to ensure that future development is pedagogically sound, learner-focused, and accessible. This powerful book: examines the reality of design in practice shares tools and resources to guide practice analyses design within complex systems discusses the influence of open resources on design includes design principles for mobile learning explores practitioner development in course teams presents scenarios for design for learning in an uncertain future Illustrated by case studies from across disciplines and supported by a helpful appendix of tools and resources for researchers, practitioners and teachers, the second edition of Rethinking Pedagogy for a Digital Age is an essential guide to designing for 21st Century learning.

In recent decades, the Canadian post-secondary education system has evolved to become more inclusive, now welcoming groups historically excluded from its many opportunities. Inviting the reader to explore the consequences of a rapidly changing student population, Serving Diverse Students in Canadian Higher Education presents new thinking about how education in general, and student services in particular, should be designed and delivered. A follow-up to Donna Hardy Cox and C. Carney Strange's Achieving Student Success (2010), this volume focuses on the best programs and practices in Canadian colleges and universities to improve the educational experiences of students who are Indigenous, people of colour, francophone, LGBTQQ, disabled, and adult learners, as well as international and first-generation students. Presenting findings obtained from both personal insight and relevant research, higher education practitioners and scholars from across the country detail the characteristics, concerns, and specific needs of each diverse group, to conclude that the success of these new students and the future of Canadian society depends on its post-secondary institutions' capacities to acknowledge students' differences, capitalize on their gifts, and accommodate them accordingly. Exploring the enriching breadth of university communities, Serving Diverse Students in Canadian Higher Education focuses on a new paradigm of individual differences and student success.

Curiosity changes everything. In 2008, Ramsey Musallam was stuck in what he describes as an ineffective rut of "pseudoteaching." Students liked him, but they didn't get the point of his lessons. They did well enough on the tests, but they failed to really understand the material. He wanted more--for them and for himself. Maybe you can relate. For Ramsey, the journey to a better way of teaching began not in the classroom, but on the operating table where he underwent a new, lifesaving heart surgery. His surgeon's confidence, dedication, and curiosity sparked an idea in Ramsey: What if teachers adopted the qualities his surgeon exhibited and were inquisitive, ready to explore, discover, try, and, yes, even fail? What if students could learn to adopt those traits as well? Those questions launched a quest to inspire inquiry and harness its benefits. Spark Learning, inspired by Ramsey's popular TED Talk "3 Rules to Spark Learning," combines brain science research, proven teaching methods, and his personal story to empower you to improve your students' learning experiences with ... Easy-to-implement ideas for sparking curiosity in your students Strategies for encouraging students to embrace the mess of learning Practices for effective reflection that propels future learning--and greater curiosity Technology tips to make it simple to collect and use your own inspiring ideas "This is a call to action for educators everywhere to recognize their own influence and ability to embrace and encourage curiosity. All teacher education programs should have this as required reading " --Elizabeth Brumbaugh, director of learning, innovation and design, Harker School "Ramsey captures the essence of what it means to pursue excellence in our teaching practice since our students and our communities deserve our best." --Gregory T. Rushton, PhD, associate professor of chemistry, Stony Brook University "You'll find his thoughts intriguing, the examples practical, and the ten bonus strategies wonderful tools for making great things happen in your classroom " --Rushton Hurley, founder, NextVista.org

Summary: "The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided, while understanding that every subject is different, and every instructor has something unique and special to bring to their teaching. The book enables teachers and instructors to help students develop the knowledge and skills they will need in a digital age: not so much the IT skills, but the thinking and attitudes to learning that will bring them success"--BC Campus website.

You've heard about "flipping your classroom"?now find out howto do it! Introducing a new way to think about higher education,learning, and technology that prioritizes the benefits of the humandimension. José Bowen recognizes that technology is profoundlychanging education and that if students are going to continue topay enormous sums for campus classes, colleges will need to providemore than what can be found online and maximize "naked"face-to-face contact with faculty. Here, he illustrates howtechnology is most powerfully used outside the classroom, and, whenused effectively, how it can ensure that students arrive to classmore prepared for meaningful interaction with faculty. Bowen offerspractical advice for faculty and administrators on how to engagestudents with new technology while restructuring classes into moreactive learning environments.

An annual publication of the Professional and OrganizationalDevelopment Network in Higher Education (POD), To Improve theAcademy offers a resource for improvement in higher educationto faculty and instructional development staff, department chairs,faculty, deans, student services staff, chief academic officers,and educational consultants. Contents include: Professional development for geographically dispersed faculty, Implementing a learning consortium for communication and change, Faculty engagement in program-level outcomes assessment, What educational developers need to know abou tfaculty-artists, Exploring the spiritual roots of mid-career faculty, Raising funds from faculty for faculty development centers, Mentoring in higher education, Tough-love consulting in order to effect change, Research on the impact of educational development, Examining effective faculty practice Insights on millennial students, Contemplative pedagogy of teaching and learning centers, Faculty and student perspectives on course evaluation terminology, Questions about student ratings, Small-group individual diagnosis to improve online instruction, Supporting international faculty, Complex ecologies of diversity, identity, teaching, and learning, Organizational strategies for fostering faculty racial inclusion, The truth about students' capacity for multitasking, Tweeting: the 2011 POD HBCUFDN Conference Twitter backchannel, Designing active learning with flexible technology.

The moment is right for critical reflection on what has been assumed to be a core part of schooling. In Ungrading, fifteen educators write about their diverse experiences going gradeless. Some contributors are new to the practice and some have been engaging in it for decades. Some are in humanities and social sciences, some in STEM fields. Some are in higher education, but some are the K-12 pioneers who led the way. Based on rigorous and replicated research, this is the first book to show why and how faculty who wish to focus on learning, rather than sorting or judging, might proceed. It includes honest reflection on what makes ungrading challenging, and testimonials about what makes it transformative. CONTRIBUTORS: Aaron Blackwelder Susan D. Blum Arthur Chiaravalli Gary Chu Cathy N. Davidson Laura Gibbs Christina Katopodis Joy Kirr Alfie Kohn Christopher Riesbeck Starr Sackstein Marcus Schultz-Bergin Clarissa Sorensen-Unruh Jesse Stommel John Warner

Too many approaches to teaching with technology are instrumental at best, devoid of heart and soul at worst. The role of the teacher is made impersonal and mechanistic by a desire for learning to be efficient and standardized. Solutionist approaches like the learning management system, the rubric, quality assurance, all but remove the will of the teacher to be compassionate, curious, and to be a learner alongside their students.As the authors write in their introduction: "It is urgent that we have teachers. In a political climate increasingly defined by obstinacy, lack of criticality, and deflection of fact and care; in a society still divided across lines of race, nationality, religion, gender, sexuality, income, ability, and privilege; in a digital culture shaped by algorithms that neither know nor accurately portray truth, teaching has an important (urgent) role to play."This collection of essays explores the authors' work in, inquiry into, and critique of online learning, educational technology, and the trends, techniques, hopes, fears, and possibilities of digital pedagogy. The ideas of this volume span almost two decades of pedagogical thinking, practice, outreach, community development, and activism.