Gerontology
Database Resources
The majority of databases can be searched together through the library’s Discovery Search. However, if you are interested in a more limited search you can access the following databases individually.
Please note, when accessing databases from off campus you will need to login using your campus wide login credentials. For the full list of databases the library offers please visit the databases link on the library home page
Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowA database of articles from journals and magazines. Most of the content is available in full text. Covers a wide range of subject areas. DS (Discovery Search)
-
Canadian Institute for Health Information (CIHI) This link opens in a new windowAn independent, not-for-profit organization that provides information on Canadas health system and the health of Canadians. Produces health care statistics that can be compared across jurisdictional boundaries on a number of health issues.
-
Canadian Pharmacists Association: CPS (On campus access) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions. Includes CPS Drug Information and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker and critical updates such as warnings and advisories.
-
Canadian Pharmacists Association: CPS (Remote access) This link opens in a new windowIncludes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions. Includes CPS Drug Information and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker and critical updates such as warnings and advisories.
-
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new windowKey database for nursing and allied health. Access to full text journal articles as well as book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and more. DS (Discovery Search)
-
EBM Reviews [Evidence Based Medicine] (Ovid) This link opens in a new windowCombines several of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database.
-
eBook Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
This curated e-book collection designed for use in hospitals, medical institutions and academic institutions. From clinical guides and evidence-based practice manuals, to practical handbooks and professional growth titles, this collection provides researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection covering all subject areas.
-
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowA full text database of consumer health information. Content includes consumer health magazines, pamphlets, and health reference books. DS (Discovery Search)
-
Health Source: Nursing This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly, full text journals in the areas of nursing and allied health as well as other medical disciplines. DS (Discovery Search)
-
Medline (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window"This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published."
-
Medline (Ovid) This link opens in a new window"This database provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals indexed in MEDLINE. Many journals are available with no embargo, allowing doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers to access to the information as soon as it is published."
-
Ovid (Your Journals@Ovid) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly, full text journals in the areas of nursing and allied health as well as other medical disciplines.
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
