Culinary Arts
Search the Selkirk College library catalogue for books
Subject Headings Used in the Catalogue
Call Numbers - Where to Find Books in the Library
TX341-641 - Nutrition. Foods and food supply
TX642-840 - Cooking
TX851-885 - Dining-room service
TX901-946.5 - Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
Books
A Conversation about Healthy Eating by
What constitutes a healthy diet? Media and advertisers would like us to think that the answer is complicated and controversial, but science tell us otherwise. Rather than present an ideology, A Conversation About Healthy Eating avoids the typical media noise, to presenting instead the science. This book allows for a comprehensive understanding and provides clear recommendations for how you can adapt both your environment and your lifestyle to make healthy eating possible.
Call Number: QT 235 L47 2017ISBN: 9781911576761Publication Date: 2018-04-15
Fennema's Food Chemistry, Fifth Edition by
This latest edition of the most internationally respected reference in food chemistry for more than 30 years, Fennema¿s Food Chemistry, 5th Edition once again meets and surpasses the standards of quality and comprehensive information set by its predecessors. All chapters reflect recent scientific advances and, where appropriate, have expanded and evolved their focus to provide readers with the current state-of-the-science of chemistry for the food industry. This edition introduces new editors and contributors who are recognized experts in their fields. The fifth edition presents a completely rewritten chapter on Water and Ice, written in an easy-to-understand manner suitable for professionals as well as undergraduates. In addition, ten former chapters have been completely revised and updated, two of which receive extensive attention in the new edition including Carbohydrates (Chapter 3), which has been expanded to include a section on Maillard reaction; and Dispersed Systems: Basic considerations (Chapter 7), which includes thermodynamic incompatibility/phase separation concepts. Retaining the straightforward organization and accessibility of the original, this edition begins with an examination of major food components such as water, carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and enzymes. The second section looks at minor food components including vitamins and minerals, colorants, flavors, and additives. The final section considers food systems by reviewing basic considerations as well as specific information on the characteristics of milk, the postmortem physiology of edible muscle, and postharvest physiology of plant tissues.
Call Number: TX 541 F65 2017ISBN: 9781482208122Publication Date: 2017
The Flavor Matrix : the art and science of pairing common ingredients to create extraordinary dishes by
One of Smithsonian Magazine's Ten Best Food Books of the Year A revolutionary new guide to pairing ingredients, based on a famous chef's groundbreaking research into the chemical basis of flavor As an instructor at one of the world's top culinary schools, James Briscione thought he knew how to mix and match ingredients. Then he met IBM Watson. Working with the supercomputer to turn big data into delicious recipes, Briscione realized that he (like most chefs) knew next to nothing about why different foods taste good together. That epiphany launched him on a quest to understand the molecular basis of flavor--and it led, in time, to The Flavor Matrix. A groundbreaking ingredient-pairing guide, The Flavor Matrix shows how science can unlock unheard-of possibilities for combining foods into astonishingly inventive dishes. Briscione distills chemical analyses of different ingredients into easy-to-use infographics, and presents mind-blowing recipes that he's created with them. The result of intensive research and incredible creativity in the kitchen, The Flavor Matrix is a must-have for home cooks and professional chefs alike: the only flavor-pairing manual anyone will ever need.
Call Number: TX 714 B75 2018ISBN: 9780544809963Publication Date: 2018
Food and Wine Tourism : integrating food, travel and terroir by
This established textbook explores how regions, and food industry, travel and hospitality companies present themselves to tourists experiencing the culture, history and ambience of a location through the food and wine it produces. It provides practical suggestions and guidelines for establishing a food-related tourism destination and business, discussing the environment, understanding the food tourist, supply issues, tours and tasting sessions, themed itineraries, planning and developing the tourist product, marketing and best practice strategies. It also includes numerous case studies from around the world and plentiful pedagogical features to aid student learning. The second edition: - Contains updated chapters throughout, to form a complete and current overview of food and wine tourism. - Reviews new emerging destinations, and food and wine tourism from a business perspective. - Includes new global case studies discussing aspects such as transforming an Indian area into a wine-producing region, promoting a destination through a social media campaign, chocolate tourism in Belize, planning an international food fair, and making San Francisco a food capital. - Presents successful international professionals' experiences and tips, catching trends and setting the tourism phenomenon in an even more international context. If food and wine tourism is well planned, managed and controlled, it can become a real economic resource. Suitable for students in tourism and leisure subjects, the practical application provided in this book also makes it an ideal resource for those operating in the food and wine sector.
Call Number: G 155 A1 C74 2017ISBN: 9781786391278Publication Date: 2017
Food Safety : the science of keeping food safe by
Food safety is a multi-faceted subject, using microbiology, chemistry, standards and regulations, and risk management to address issues involving bacterial pathogens, chemical contaminants, natural toxicants, additive safety, allergens, and more. This revised edition has been updated with the latest information on food safety. It addresses all the topics pertinent to a full understanding of keeping the food we eat safe. Each chapter of Food Safety: The Science of Keeping Food Safe, Second Edition proceeds from introductory concepts and builds towards a sophisticated treatment of the topic, allowing the reader to take what knowledge is required for understanding food safety at a wide range of levels. Illustrated with photographs and examples throughout, this new edition also boasts 4 new chapters covering radioactivity in food; food terrorism; food authenticity; and food supplements. * This second edition has been revised and updated throughout to include the latest topics in this fast-moving field * Includes 4 brand new chapters on radioactivity in food, food terrorism, food authenticity, and food supplements * The most readable and user-friendly food safety book for students, scientists, regulators, and general readers Food Safety is the ideal starting point for students and non-specialists seeking to learn about food safety issues, and an enjoyable and stylish read for those who already have an academic or professional background in the area.
Call Number: TX 531 S58 2018ISBN: 9781119133667Publication Date: 2018
The World of Culinary Management : leadership and development of human resources by
A broad, all-encompassing look at the chef as a manager, examining the roles of leadership, management, training, and supervision. The World of Culinary Management: Leadership and Development of Human Resources, 6/e, one of the only texts designed for human resource management from a culinary perspective, gives aspiring chefs the foundational knowledge and skills required to lead, supervise, and manage food service workers. It outlines in clear terms those elements crucial to success in today's quality-driven foodservice industry, with in-depth exploration of the roles and responsibilities of a successful food service manager. The text examines all aspects of training, providing practical discussions on essential management skills and functions. The new edition incorporates new time-sensitive information about issues such as the Affordable Care Act issues of diversity, and addresses women culinary industry leaders.
Call Number: TX 911.3 M27 C494 2018ISBN: 9780134484464Publication Date: 2017
At the Chef's Table by
This book is about the creative work of chefs at top restaurants in New York and San Francisco. Based on interviews with chefs and observation in restaurant kitchens, the book explores the question of how and why chefs make choices about the dishes they put on their menus. It answers this question by examining a whole range of areas, including chefs' careers, restaurant ratings and reviews, social networks, how chefs think about food and go about creating new dishes, and how status influences their work and careers. Chefs at top restaurants face competing pressures to deliver complex and creative dishes, and navigate market forces to run a profitable business in an industry with exceptionally high costs and low profit margins. Creating a distinctive and original culinary style allows them to stand out in the market, but making the familiar food that many customers want ensures that they can stay in business. Chefs must make choices between these competing pressures. In explaining how they do so, this book uses the case study of high cuisine to analyze, more generally, how people in creative occupations navigate a context that is rife with uncertainty, high pressures, and contradicting forces.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780804787970Publication Date: 2015-06-03
Cooking Cultures by
This volume offers a study of food, cooking and cuisine in different societies and cultures over different periods of time. It highlights the intimate connections of food, identity, gender, power, personhood and national culture, and also the intricate combination of ingredients, ideas, ideologies and imagination that go into the representation of food and cuisine. Tracking such blends in different societies and continents developed from trans-cultural flows of goods and peoples, colonial encounters, adventure and adaptation, and change in attitude and taste, Cooking Cultures makes a novel argument about convergent histories of the globe brought about by food and cooking.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781107140363Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Culinary Ephemera by
This extraordinary collection, a trove of enchanting designs, appealing colors, and forgotten motifs that stir the imagination, features an unprecedented assortment of ephemera, or paper collectibles, related to food. It includes images of postcards, match covers, menus, labels, posters, brochures, valentines, packaging, advertisements, and other materials from nineteenth- and twentieth-century America. Internationally acclaimed food historian William Woys Weaver takes us on a lively tour through this dazzling collection in which each piece tells a new story about food and the past. Packed with fascinating history, the volume is the first serious attempt to organize culinary ephemera into categories, making it useful for food lovers, collectors, designers, and curators alike. Much more than a catalog, Culinary Ephemera follows this paper trail to broader themes in American social history such as diet and health, alcoholic beverages, and Americans abroad. It is a collection that, as Weaver notes, will "transport us into the vicarious worlds of dinners past, brushing elbows with the reality of another time, another place, another human condition."
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520259775Publication Date: 2010-10-18
Culinary Reactions by
When you're cooking, you're a chemist! Every time you follow or modify a recipe, you are experimenting with acids and bases, emulsions and suspensions, gels and foams. In your kitchen you denature proteins, crystallize compounds, react enzymes with substrates, and nurture desired microbial life while suppressing harmful bacteria and fungi. And unlike in a laboratory, you can eat your experiments to verify your hypotheses. In Culinary Reactions, author Simon Quellen Field turns measuring cups, stovetop burners, and mixing bowls into graduated cylinders, Bunsen burners, and beakers. How does altering the ratio of flour, sugar, yeast, salt, butter, and water affect how high bread rises? Why is whipped cream made with nitrous oxide rather than the more common carbon dioxide? And why does Hollandaise sauce call for "clarified" butter? This easy-to-follow primer even includes recipes to demonstrate the concepts being discussed, including: Whipped Creamsicle Topping--a foam; Cherry Dream Cheese--a protein gle; Lemonade with Chameleon Eggs--an acid indicator; and more!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781569767061Publication Date: 2011-11-01
From Canton Restaurant to Panda Express by
Received an Honorable Mention for the 2015-2016 Asian/Pacific American Awards for Literature, Adult Non-Fiction category Finalist in the Culinary History category of the 2016 Gourmand World Cookbook Awards​ From Canton Restaurant to Panda Express takes readers on a compelling journey from the California Gold Rush to the present, letting readers witness both the profusion of Chinese restaurants across the United States and the evolution of many distinct American-Chinese iconic dishes from chop suey to General Tso's chicken. Along the way, historian Haiming Liu explains how the immigrants adapted their traditional food to suit local palates, and gives readers a taste of Chinese cuisine embedded in the bittersweet story of Chinese Americans. Treating food as a social history, Liu explores why Chinese food changed and how it has influenced American culinary culture, and how Chinese restaurants have become places where shared ethnic identity is affirmed--not only for Chinese immigrants but also for American Jews. The book also includes a look at national chains like P. F. Chang's and a consideration of how Chinese food culture continues to spread around the globe. Drawing from hundreds of historical and contemporary newspaper reports, journal articles, and writings on food in both English and Chinese, From Canton Restaurant to Panda Express represents a groundbreaking piece of scholarly research. It can be enjoyed equally as a fascinating set of stories about Chinese migration, cultural negotiation, race and ethnicity, diverse flavored Chinese cuisine and its share in American food market today.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813574752Publication Date: 2015-09-09
How to Become a Rock Star Chef in the Digital Age by
Digital Marketing and Celebrity Chef Branding expert Mark Garcia shares hard-won advice and real life examples on how chefs, restaurateurs and food-service professionals can connect and engage with customers, so that they can dominate their competitive marketplace. In his passionate, streetwise style, Chef Mark Garcia’s mission is to strengthen the positioning and messaging of chefs, restaurateurs and food-service professionals by training them on best practices and techniques that lead to profitable digital marketing campaigns and promotions. With the massive proliferation and constant evolvement of digital, social and mobile media platforms in the past few years, the winning recipe of content and engagement is different now. Yes, one must still have tremendous cooking talent, serve their customers flawlessly and provide value to the marketplace, but no entrepreneur, brand manager or corporation can deny the power and intimacy of digital marketing. In the end, it’s all about how you engage and serve your customers and potential customers. As a culinary professional, foodie or entrepreneur, your perspective and experiences have greater importance and market value than you probably ever dreamed. You can make a difference in the world. One of the best ways to do that is to learn how to harness the power of the New Digital Economy In How To Become A Rock Star Chef, legendary trainer Chef Mark Garcia gives you a peek behind the kitchen door into the New Digital Economy and reveals a simple 11-Step plan on how chefs, restaurateurs and food-service professionals can strategically position themselves, their brands or their services in the digital marketplace and significantly increase their bottom line.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781630471019Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Tasting Paradise on Earth by
Preparing and consuming food is an integral part of identity formation, which in contemporary China embodies tension between fast-forward modernization and cultural nostalgia. Jin Feng?s wide-ranging exploration of cities in the Lower Yangzi Delta?or Jiangnan, a region known for its paradisiacal beauty and abundant resources?illustrates how people preserve culinary inheritance while also revamping it for the new millennium. Throughout Chinese history, food nostalgia has generated cultural currency for individuals. Feng examines literary treatments of Jiangnan foodways from late imperial and twentieth-century China, highlighting the role played by gender and tracing the contemporary metamorphosis of this cultural landscape, with its new platforms for food culture, such as television and the internet. As communities in Jiangnan refashion their regional heritage, culinary arts shine as markers of ethnic and social distinction.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780295745985Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Theory of Hospitality and Catering by
Offering a complete overview of the hospitality and catering industry for over 50 years, this new edition of the essential reference text has been updated to reflect latest developments and current issues. Covering all aspects of the industry - from commodities and nutrition, to planning, resourcing and running each of the key operational areas - The Theory of Hospitality and Catering is an essential text for anyone training to work in the hospitality industry. It will be valuable to anyone completing courses in Professional Cookery and Hospitality Supervision, as well as hospitality management and culinary arts students. Supporting learning and training delivery in: ' SIT30916 Certificate III in Catering Operations ' SIT40616 Certificate IV in Catering Operations
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781471865237Publication Date: 2016
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
