Early Childhood Care & Education
Search the Selkirk College library catalogue for books
Adapting Early Childhood Curricula for Children with Special Needs by
A practical, activity-based approach to early childhood special education built on a foundation of theory and research. This comprehensive text on early childhood special education emphasizes a developmental focus over a disability focus. The authors believe that children are more alike than different in their developmental processes and avoid the negative impact of labeling children with disability categorical names. The authors have produced a book that offers educators a practical and effective guide to finding learning opportunities within daily curriculum activities and routine. The current edition maintains the focus on inclusive, family-centered, real-world approaches that are also theoretically based. The text also provides ample detail related to specific intervention strategies that enhance teachers' ability to work with young children with special needs and their families. Readable and practical, the illustrations of techniques and strategies throughout make this text a valuable resource long after students leave their formal education.
Call Number: LC 4019.2 C66 2012ISBN: 9780132596787Publication Date: 2012
Child Psychology by
This Very Short Introduction provides an up-to-date, authoritative, and accessible guide to modern child psychology, from birth to early adolescence. Beginning with infancy, Usha Goswami considers the process of attachment and "bonding", showing how secure attachments enable the development ofself-understanding. Exploring childhood learning, ranging from aspects of language and thinking to cognitive reasoning, Goswami looks at how babies and toddlers develop an understanding of the physical, biological, and social worlds, and develop complex abilities like language and morality.Demonstrating how learning is shaped by the environments surrounding the child; at home, school, with peers, and in wider society, Goswami emphasizes the importance of childhood friendships and siblings for psychological development. Introducing the key theories in child psychology, Goswami explainswhy children develop as they do and how society can further optimize their development through the adolescent years.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: BF 721 G648 2014ISBN: 9780199646593Publication Date: 2014Essentials of Early Childhood Education by Summary: Essentials of Early Childhood Education remains one of the best-selling and most revered texts in the field. The text emphasizes the importance of experience, interactions, and environments to support children in development. This edition highlights up-to-date coverage, statistics, and references to new Canadian studies as well as validates Early Childhood Education as a critical and meaningful vocation. Essentials of Early Childhood Education will provide students with the foundations necessary to study further in their field and achieve success in their field placements and practicum. The book is intended for the Introduction to Early Childhood Education courses found in all Early Childhood Education Departments. The book focuses on issues that must be addressed to prepare individuals to work with young children and families in early development stages. The book can be used for one semester with other slimmer texts on topics such as curriculum, philosophy, etc.
Call Number: LB 1775.6 G47 2012ISBN: 9780176502447Publication Date: 2012
Healthy Foundations in Early Childhood Settings by
Summary: Development and learning are fostered and supported when children are healthy and able to participate fully in a child-centred, play-based curriculum. Health is integrated with children’s growth, development, and cultural realities, and Healthy Foundations reflects this belief. In collaboration with families, educators have an integral role in maintaining or improving children’s overall health status through a health promotion philosophy. Healthy Foundations focuses on the overall health needs of all children through discussions and examples of contemporary issues that affect all children, such as how too much screen use decreases physical activity and contributes to obesity. By presenting the latest guidelines set out by federal and provincial governments, and the Canadian Pediatric Society, Healthy Foundations reinforces the concept that educators have an integral role in maintaining or improving children’s overall health status through a health promotion philosophy.
Call Number: HQ 778.7 C3 P55 2014ISBN: 9780176509569Publication Date: 2014Inclusion in Early Childhood Programs by An inclusive approach to early childhood education and care -- Canadian legislation : support for children through early intervention -- Partnership with families -- Preparing educators for inclusive programs -- An overview of developmental differences -- Children with cognitive delays -- Advanced cognitive and developmental abilities : children who are gifted -- Sensory impairments : hearing and vision -- Orthopedic and other health conditions -- Mental health disorders -- Learning disabilities -- Identification and the individual education plan (IEP) -- Planning transitions to support inclusion -- Intervention with specific age groups : infants, toddlers, and school-aged children -- Arranging the inclusive learning environment -- Facilitating social development -- Facilitating positive behaviour (managing challenging behaviours) -- Facilitating cognitive learning -- Facilitating speech, language, and the development of communication.
Call Number: LC 4019.2 A46 2019ISBN: 0176890386Publication Date: 2020
Outdoor and Nature Play in Early Childhood Education by
Introduction to outdoor play and nature -- Historical and philosophical foundation for outdoor and nature play -- Canadian and international research on outdoor play -- Loose parts-using natural and found materials in outdoor and nature play -- The relationship of outdoor and nature play to development, health, learning, and thinking -- Outdoor play that involves challenge, adventure, and risk -- Nature-based early learning places and spaces -- Sustainability and first nations-teachings -- Programming from a four-season perspective -- Supporting families and others in connecting children's play to their development -- Documentation and assessment of children's outdoor play environments -- Outdoor and nature play-looking to research and practice to inform the future.
Call Number: LB 1139.35 P55 D527 2019ISBN: 9780134742083Publication Date: 2019
Playing and Learning in Early Childhood Education by
Exploring the foundations of play -- The process of play -- Observing, documenting, and interpreting children's play -- Outdoor and nature play : unscripted and unstructured -- Planning play spaces -- Loose parts and children's play -- Art and play -- Blocks and child's play -- Dramatic play -- Language, emergent literacy, and play -- Math and science and play -- Music, movement, and play -- Bringing technology into child's play : a new perspective -- Taking play to the next level.
Call Number: LB 1139.35 P55 D55 2018ISBN: 9780134639277Publication Date: 2018
Acting Out!: Avoid Behavior Challenges with Active Learning Games and Activities by
Movement is not misbehavior! Current policies in the early childhood field ask teachers to treat children as though they exist from the neck up--even though research clearly demonstrates that the mind-body connection is vital to development. Rae Pica, founder and director of Rae Pica Keynotes & Consulting and author of the Moving and Learning series, advocates for active learning, not only because it's developmentally appropriate but because doing so promotes a calmer, friendlier, and less challenging learning environment. Section I provides theory, research, and language to advocate for active learning. Section II offers suggestions on how to update learning environments, and Rae offers some of her own past missteps in hopes that readers will be able to learn from her mistakes. Section III contains 200 ready-to-use movement activities that can be easily implemented into the day. Most require no materials, and every activity includes a "Curriculum Connection," so readers can understand and clearly explain why the children aren't "just playing."
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781605546964Publication Date: 2019
Contemporary Perspectives on Research in Assessment and Evaluation in Early Childhood Education by
Researchers, educators, professional organizations, administrators, parents, and policy makers have increased their involvement in the assessment and evaluation of early childhood education programs. This interest has developed swiftly during the last decades. The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) and the National Association of Early Childhood Specialists in State Departments of Education (NAECS/SDE) developed a position statement titled, “Early childhood curriculum, assessment, and program evaluation: Building an effective, accountable system in programs for children birth through age 8,” to address related trends, issues, guiding principles, and values. Appropriate and well-designed evaluations need to address several audiences including researchers, educators, policy makers, children, and parents. They need to encourage the implementation of a strong foundation that improves the quality of the children's education. Child assessment and program evaluation can lead to effective results and better accountability for preschool, kindergarten, and primary school programs. The purpose of this volume is to share a collection of research strands on contemporary perspectives on research in assessment and evaluation in early childhood education. It provides a review and critical analysis of the literature on assessment and evaluation of programs, children, teachers, and settings. The volume begins with a brief introductory chapter that presents the reader with a map of the area, laying out the issues and alternatives, and linking these to the chapters that follow. It addresses several areas including (1) understanding assessment and evaluation with young children, (2) schools and assessment implications, (3) teacher evaluation and professional development, (4) social relationships and assessment, (5) content areas in early education assessment, (6) technology and assessment, and (7) conclusion with future research directions in assessment and evaluation in early childhood education. The volume is of interest to researchers, educators, policy makers, university faculty, graduate students, and general readers who are interested in research on assessment and evaluation in early childhood education. The chapters are authored by established scholars in the field.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781681231525Publication Date: 2015-07-27
Critical Issues in Preparing Effective Early Childhood Special Education Teachers for the 21 Century Classroom by
The purpose of this book is to provide a forum for an interdisciplinary scholarly dialogue with regard to preparing teachers for early childhood special education. In addition, it is aimed at examining and making available relevant and most recent scholarship to practitioners and at addressing critical issues and perspectives around preparing effective educators for the 21 century classroom and the future. This book intends to illuminate a complex and challenging task of preparing effective educators through the lenses of several educational disciplines, including but not limited to, teacher education, general education, special education, early childhood education, and urban education.The information in this work will focus on several educational disciplines that have the most immediate implications for teacher preparation and practice. The overall educational knowledge base will be enhanced due to the educational interdisciplinary approach. This has additional implications for teacher education, special education, educational leadership, curriculum and instruction, educational policy, and urban education, to name a few. The multidimensional nature of the book gives it the freedom to highlight multiple and diverse voices while at the same time providing a forum for different (and sometimes divergent) methodologies, philosophies, and ideologies.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781681230580Publication Date: 2015-09-14
Developing Empathy in the Early Years: A Guide for Practitioners by
Winner of the Professional Books category in the 2018 Nursery World Awards. Empathy is an essential part of being human: it allows us to connect with others, which in turn opens doors for us to happiness and success. Though everyone is born with an inherent capacity for empathy, children have the power to grow and re-build their natural supply, and even 'learn' to be more understanding towards others. This pithy and practical guide provides early years professionals with the tools to make empathy the foundation for their work. It reveals where the roots of empathy lie, how to prioritise it in practice, and how it manifests itself in young developing brains. It includes simple teaching strategies and creative ideas for empathy-building games and activities, enabling you to help children grow up as happier, friendlier, more thoughtful individuals. This book is an essential resource for anyone working with small children.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781785921438.Publication Date: 2017
The Great Disconnect in Early Childhood Education by
Early childhood educators need to be cognizant of the disconnect between public policy and classroom practice—the success of children they teach depends on it. This book analyzes how ineffective practices are driven by unexamined public policies and why educators need to challenge their thinking in order to make a difference in children's lives. A very complex story about public policy and the importance of teaching is told while entertaining and engaging the reader throughout. Michael Gramling is an expert in providing family literacy training and positive guidance training and has conducted experiential supervisor and mentor coach institutes for Head Start programs.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781605544007Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Guide to Early Childhood Education : Development - Design - Diversity by
Guide to Early Childhood Education: Development – Design – Diversity is a textbook of articles and essays exclusively written to provide a resource for educationalists working in the field of Early Childhood Education (ECE), and programmes from around the world. The text has been formally prepared in three significant parts to offer encouraging insights, early learning ideas, classroom environmental changes and pertinent information and internet resources to assist in guiding successful learning. This textbook is primarily suited for ECE administrators, directors, students, teachers, instructors, professors, and additional personnel that will be teaching or working with children in age levels ranging from infant and toddler through to school-age grade three.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781443899673Publication Date: 2016
Learning Together with Young Children (Second Edition) by
Offering an alternative approach to standardization and data-driven mandates, this book puts children at the center of planning your curriculum. Rather than a prescriptive curriculum, by using The Thinking Lens® protocol, teachers can translate educational theories into concrete ideas for working with children and families. Learn to create a welcoming classroom culture, develop routines for self-regulation, and use Learning Stories to enhance experiences for the children in your care.This book has been updated to examine how to work with mandated curriculum, rating scales, and assessment tools, while practicing reflective teaching.Margie Carter holds a MA from Pacific Oaks College and has worked as a preschool, kindergarten, and primary school teacher, curriculum developer, High/Scope trainer, child care director, and college instructor.Deb Curtis holds a MA in human development from Pacific Oaks College and has worked as an infant/toddler caregiver, preschool and school age child care teacher, CDA trainer, Head Start education coordinator, college instructor, and assistant director of a child care program.Carter and Curtis have published six books together, including Designs for Living and Learning and The Art of Awareness.
ISBN: 9781605545226Publication Date: 2017
Parent Engagement in Early Learning: Strategies for Working with Families by
This second edition of Parent-Friendly Early Learning brings to life real scenarios that care providers face in today's world. We know parent engagement is important for a child's success, but how do you turn parent-provider relationships into partnerships? Learn how to improve parent-teacher communication, deal with family issues and special complications, and how to work with the modern family. Julie Powers has worked with children, families, educators, and communities for over forty years. She started preschool programs at the Dodge Nature Center in St. Paul, Minnesota, an inclusion-based program for Catalina Foothills School District in Tucson, Arizona, and was a consultant for the Air Force Child Development Centers. She has taught at colleges across the country and is currently an associate professor of early childhood education at University of Hawaii Maui College.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781605544380Publication Date: 2016
Saving Play: Addressing Standards Through Play-Based Learning in Preschool and Kindergarten by
Play, academics, and standards can work together with the right strategies and support from educators. Take an active role in child-directed play to guide learning. Become a strong advocate for saving play in early childhood education by empowering teachers to join play and standards, and learn how child-led, open-ended play addresses the seven domains and Common Core Standards. This book is full of research and resources that link academic learning and play experiences. Engage in provocative questions for teachers and administrators to help you effectively share the importance of play in early learning with others, and help restore play to its proper role as both fun and educational. Gaye Gronlund, MA, is a nationally recognized consultant and author who works with early childhood programs across the country, specializing in developmentally appropriate practice, authentic assessment, play-based curriculum, and early learning standards. Her other publications include: Individualized Child-Focused Curriculum, Focused Observations, Second Edition, and Making Early Learning Standards Come Alive, Second Edition. Thomas Rendon is the coordinator of the Iowa Head Start State Collaboration Office and an active supporter of policy to promote play at a state level. He has an MBA from the University of Iowa and is currently working on a PhD in early childhood special education from Kent State University.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781605545301.Publication Date: 2017
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
