Library Resources for Instructors.
Streaming Resources for the Classroom
- Curio.ca This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio and video content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Provides access to thousands of programs and documentaries with English and French-language content.
- Getting Started with Curio.caA help guide to get started using Curio in the classroom.
- Criterion On-Demand! This link opens in a new windowStream films for free through Criterion-on-Demand! Access thousands of English and French feature films, over 100 documentary features and approximately 135 foreign language films with English subtitles. Available on campus or from home (login with your Selkirk College email credentials required for off-campus access)..
- Docuseek This link opens in a new windowDocuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films to colleges and universities, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Free previews are available to registered users. Streaming licenses are available for single titles to the entire collection, for periods ranging from one week to the Life of File. Please contact the library for more information.
You will need to create a personal login in order to view videos.
- Docuseek Help WikiOn this wiki, you will find help with using Docuseek as well as tips for using the site.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection covering all subject areas.
- How to Add Youtube Videos to Your Content in Films on DemandA quick guide to show how to add Youtube videos to your cotent in Films on Demand. Note: requires a profile within Films on Demand.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a video streaming service that offers movies and documentaries. Access is available to students and staff of Selkirk College for titles purchased by the Library. Contact the Library to suggest a purchase.
- NFB (National Film Board of Canada) This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection from the NFB. Films include documentaries, animation and dramas.
Linking to Streaming Videos
A Best Practices Guide for Instructors
“I would like to link to streaming videos from library databases for my course. How can I do that?"
Streaming Video Collections
Search our collections above for a streaming video that you’d like your students to watch.
Links can be embedded in Moodle or in software such as MS Word or PowerPoint.
The Citation
Copyright law requires that a full citation be provided for all resources that you link to.
Choose whichever citation style is applicable to the course: APA, MLA, Chicago or other.
The URL (Link)
- Copy the persistent link
- Paste the link into your Moodle site
Note: Do not copy the URL from the browser bar. Look in the item record for a permanent link. (See below for exceptions)
Correct URLs will begin with this prepend: https://selkirk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
Important: If the prepend is missing, paste it in front of the URL
- Sample Title URL from Films on Demand:
- Sample Segment URL from Films on Demand:
- Sample URL from Library Catalogue:
https://selkirk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://selkirk.kanopy.com/node/69054
Tip: Choose URL from catalogue record tab, not from the browser bar.
- Sample URL from NFB Campus Collection:
https://selkirk.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.nfb.ca/film/four_wings_and_a_prayer
Tip: NFB is an exception! Choose the URL from the browser bar.
https://selkirk.idm.oclc.org/login?url= Must be manually added to the beginning of the URL
Login to Library Resources
Users that are off campus or are using a remote device will be prompted to login to access library resources.
Reference List
It is good academic practice to include a complete reference list of all the works included in your Moodle course. Remember that copyright law requires that full citations be provided. The reference list would include citations for all the articles, ebooks, streaming videos, websites etc. that you link to.
Need Help?
- Please contact IT Services for assistance with Moodle or eCampus.
- Please contact the Library for assistance with Library resources and document URLs.
