Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hopitality 099: Finding Books and Articles for Your Paper

Finding Books and Articles for Your Paper

Finding Books

You can do a simple search for books directly from the library homepage using the search box or you can click on Advanced Search to do an advanced search. Keep in mind that the library collection is small so you should only use one or two general terms to search for books.

If you want to write a paper on melting sea ice in the arctic, you could look for a book on climate change.

To find that book you would type Climate Change into the search box and click Search

Search Results

You will end up with search results that contain both articles and books. To restrict your results to books, click the checkbox next to Book Catalogue (see green arrow below).

The blue box below shows you where the information you need to find the book on the shelf is located. Location tells you which library has it, Call number tells you where it is on the shelf, and Status tells you which section of the library it's in and whether or not it's checked out. 

 

How to use a call number

Once you have the call number for the book you want for your research, you have all the information you need to find the book on the shelf.

Let's say you want to find this book on climate change:

 

 

 

 

 

 

The blue box in the image above highlights all the information you need to find the book on the shelf. Location tells you that the book is in the Castlegar Campus Library. Status tells you that it is in the General collection and Call No. points you to where it is on the shelf. Think of the Call Number as the book's street address.

This call number for this book is WB 700 R66 2016.

WB helps to locate the shelf that it's on.

These signs on the end of the row of shelves tell you the range of 2-letter call numbers that are found on this row. In this case, WB is found between UA and WS

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The numbers after the 2-letter call number tell you where on the shelf the book is located. Notice that the Call number we are looking for (WB 700 R66 2016) is found with other books in the WB 700 range. R66 comes after E67 and before S73. 2016 is the year the book was published.

  • To find eBooks click on databases from the library home page then scroll down to eBook Academic Collection.
  •  If you would like to find eBooks that you can download, under search select Download Available.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  •  

 

  • Enter the name of the famous Canadian you are looking for an eBook on. For example, if we do a search for eBooks on John A. Macdonald our first result will be John A. Macdonald: The Young Politician, The Old Chieftain.

  • Click on either the PDF Full Text link or the EPUB Full Text link. From there you have the option to download the whole book, sections of it, email pages, print pages to PDF, or save it to your Google Drive.

Once you have found a book that you'd like to use for your paper, chances are the book will be located at the Castlegar Campus Library. You can choose to visit the library in person or better yet, have the book sent to the 10th Street Campus and you can pick it up in the Bookstore/Library.

In the item record for the book click on Retrieve Catalogue Item.

 

Click Place Hold:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enter your student card barcode number and your password for your library account. If this is the first time logging in and you don't know your PIN please contact the library.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Select 10th Street Campus from the Pickup Location dropdown menu:

 

You will receive an email when the book is ready to pickup at the 10th Street Campus.

Finding articles in the research databases

Discovery will search most of the research databases that the library subscribes to at once, so it's a great place to begin your search for journal articles. You can do a simple search from the search box on the library homepage, but we are going to click on Advanced Search to give us more search options.

 

Finding articles in the research databases

Conducting a search

The advanced search page let's you search for multiple keywords or phrases and by default it connects them with AND, which means that it searches for items that include all of the keywords. It's best practice to search for each concept in a separate search bar. Putting too many keywords in one search bar can cause the search results to miss relevant articles.

After you click Search, you will get a page of search results. If you want to restrict your search to peer-reviewed articles, you can click the box next to Academic (Peer-reviewed) Articles (Green arrow in the image below). If you want to read the abstract of an article you can click on the title (blue arrow) to go to the article's record.

 

Anatomy of an article record

After you've clicked on the title of an article, you will see the record for that article which contains additional information including publication information for a complete citation, the abstract, and any assigned subject headings (Blue box).  The red arrow is pointing at the PDF icon which will allow you to read the complete article, or download it onto your computer. The green box highlights multiple tools you can use to keep the article to read later, including printing, email yourself a PDF with a complete citation, exporting to citation management software, copying the permalink, or getting a formatted citation that you can copy and paste into your references list. The citation tool is a good time saver, but it is not perfect so it is very important that you check the citation formatting carefully using a citation guide.

undefined

 

Limiting your search results

Search results can be limited by source type (green box) or by date (Blue box) using the tools on the left sidebar. Check the boxes besides the types of journals you want to search, and use the date slider to limit your articles to a specific date range. This can be useful if your instructor wants you to use articles that are recent.

Some research databases, like JSTOR and CBCA are not searched effectively using Discovery, so they have to be searched individually. JSTOR is most useful for those doing research in the humanities, and CBCA indexes Canadian newspapers, magazines, and university presses.

JSTOR logoCanadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)

 

Finding the research databases

From the library homepage, click on Databases .

JSTOR

JSTOR indexes articles on many subjects, but is particularly useful for the humanities. Each keyword can be entered in a separate search box (red arrow), and the results can be narrowed by item type (green box) and date range (blue box). 

Canadian Business and Current Affairs (CBCA)

CBCA indexes Canadian newpapers, magazines, and university presses. Search results can be narrowed by peer-reviewed articles or full-text (red arrow), as well as by date range (blue box).

Chat with a Librarian

Chat loading...

Get Help

Visit the help desk or schedule an appointment with a reference librarian to discuss your research. See our contact page for details.