English Literature
Notable Book Titles
Literary Theory by Call Number: PN 99 E54 C85 2011ISBN: 9780199691340Publication Date: 2011-08-11Shedding light on everything from literature and social identity, to poetry, poetics, and rhetoric, this is a welcome guide for all students and readers of literature. Answering questions such as "What is literary theory?" and "Why have theorists been arguing about the distinction between humans and animals?", the author explains that theory by sketching key "moves" that theory has encouraged, and by speaking directly about the implications of theory for thinking about literature, human identity, and the power of language.
A method for writing essays about literature by Call Number: PE 1479 C7 H32 2010ISBN: 0176501215Publication Date: 2010Summary: "A Method for Writing Essays About Literature is designed to clearly explain to students how to write essays that analyze literature. This clear, step-by-step Canadian text, gives students a clear understanding of the purpose and structure of the literary analysis essay."-- from Amazon.ca
Writing about Literature by Call Number: PE 1479 C7 R63 2006ISBN: 0131540572Publication Date: 2005-08-10A Method for Writing Essays About Literature is designed to clearly explain to students how to write essays that analyze literature. This clear, step-by-step Canadian text, gives students a clear understanding of the purpose and structure of the literary analysis essay."-- from Amazon.ca
Writing Essays about Literature by Call Number: PN 83 G72 2006ISBN: 1413003958Publication Date: 2005-05-23Widely used in introductory literature courses as a style guide or as a supplement to anthologies, this text provides students with valuable guidelines for interpreting literature and writing essays. The text includes full-length selections as well as student essays.
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada by
Canada's rich, diverse literary heritage has long attracted widespread recognition, and in recent years Canadian writers have won nearly every major international literary award. The breadth and sophistication of Canada's literature demands precisely the kind of critical reflection that W.H. New's comprehensive Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada now offers to readers. This up-to-date reference book brings together 300 leading Canadianists to look at literature in Canada from a variety of perspectives. In over 2000 entries, acknowledging Canada's cultural plurality, the Encyclopedia discusses literature in English and French, and also in such other languages as Yiddish, Spanish, Haida and Cree; authors and their work; related literary and social issues; professional institutions that play a role in the lives of Canadian writers; and the major historical and cultural events that have shaped Canada. The unique richness of this work is also reflected in the breadth of other entries. Among them are commentaries on humour and satire, genre (including radio drama and the long poem), social history, film, television and popular culture, literary awards, language, critical theory, the oral literatures of the First Nations, petroglyphs, the publishing industry, journalism, gender, race, religion, region, myth, and class. Extensive cross-referencing, a cultural chronology, supplementary index, and suggestions for further reading make this encyclopedia the most complete and accessible reference guide to Canadian literature in print. Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada will be an essential resource for scholars, writers, and readers for years to come.
Call Number: PS 8015 E53 2002ISBN: 9780802007612Publication Date: 2002-10-07
Literature by
The concise version of the discipline's most popular introductory anthology, Kennedy/Gioia’sLiterature, Compact Edition continues to inspire students with engaging insights on reading and writing about stories, poems, and plays. Poets in their own right, editors X.J. Kennedy and Dana Gioia bring personal warmth and a human perspective to this compact, paperback anthology. Organized into three genres—Literature,Compact Edition presents readable discussions of the literary devices, illustrated by apt works, supported by useful writing tips, and followed by (now) six full chapters devoted to writing. A broad scope of traditional and contemporary works is provided, most headed by author images and richly detailed biographical notes and some followed by author commentary. While maintaining the characteristics of its previous editions–accessible apparatus, expansive author representation–this Compact, Fifth Edition has been re-imagined to include new casebooks, a lively new design, and more writing coverage than ever before.
Call Number: PN 6014 L59 2007ISBN: 0321475771Publication Date: 2006-11-30
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
