Statistics
Search the Selkirk College library catalogue for books
Subject Headings Used in the Catalogue
The Basic Practice of Statistics by
The Basic Practice of Statistics has become a bestselling textbook by focusing on how statistics are gathered, analyzed, and applied to real problems and situations--and by confronting student anxieties about the course's relevance and difficulties head on. With David Moore's pioneering "data analysis" approach (emphasizing statistical thinking over computation), engaging narrative and case studies, current problems and exercises, and an accessible level of mathematics, there is no more effective textbook for showing students what working statisticians do and what accurate interpretations of data can reveal about the world we live in. In the new edition, you will once again see how everything fits together. As always, Moore's text offers balanced content, beginning with data analysis, then covering probability and inference in the context of statistics as a whole. It provides a wealth of opportunities for students to work with data from a wide range of disciplines and real-world settings, emphasizing the big ideas of statistics in the context of learning specific skills used by professional statisticians. Thoroughly updated throughout, the new edition offers new content, features, cases, data sources, and exercises, plus new media support for instructors and students--including the latest version of the widely-adopted StatsPortal. The full picture of the contemporary practice of statistics has never been so captivatingly presented to an uninitiated audience.
Call Number: QA 276.12 M648 2010ISBN: 1429224266Publication Date: 2010
Business Statistics by
This updated title in Barron's Business Review series shows how to apply statistical methods to a variety of business situations in order to produce enlightening and profitable information. Topics covered include probability and hypothesis testing, random variables, polls and sampling, multiple linear regression, analyzing business data, decision theory, and more. Business Review books are designed for classroom use, but are also valuable as self-teaching volumes for businesspersons engaged in various fields. When used in college business courses, these titles make fine supplements to main textbooks. Instructors in adult education and brush-up programs often choose these books as their main classroom text. Each title includes review questions with answers.
Call Number: HF 1017 D65 2010ISBN: 9780764142390Publication Date: 2010
Business Statistics by
Help your students see the light. With its myriad of techniques, concepts and formulas, business statistics can be overwhelming for many students. They can have trouble recognizing the importance of studying statistics, and making connections between concepts. Ken Black's fifth edition of Business Statistics: For Contemporary Decision Making helps students see the big picture of the business statistics course by giving clearer paths to learn and choose the right techniques. Here's how Ken Black helps students see the big picture: Video Tutorials-In these video clips, Ken Black provides students with extra learning assistance on key difficult topics. Available in WileyPLUS. Tree Taxonomy Diagram-Tree Taxonomy Diagram for Unit 3 further illustrates the connection between topics and helps students pick the correct technique to use to solve problems. New Organization-The Fifth Edition is reorganized into four units, which will help professor teach and students see the connection between topics. WileyPLUS-WilePLUS provides everything needed to create an environment where students can reach their full potential and experience the exhilaration of academic success. In addition to a complete online text, online homework, and instant feedback, WileyPLUS offers additional Practice Problems that give students the opportunity to apply their knowledge, and Decision Dilemma Interactive Cases that provide real-world decision-making scenarios. Learn more at www.wiley.co,/college/wileyplus.
Call Number: HF 1017 B572 2008ISBN: 9780471789567Publication Date: 2008
Elementary Statistics in Social Research: Essentials by
This text provides a streamlined and accessible introduction to statistics for students in sociology, criminal justice, political science, social work, and other social sciences. This edition of the text offers an essential and accessible overview to the introduction to social statistics. Clearly written with detailed step-by-step illustrations of statistical procedures, the text provides clear and logical explanations for the rationale and use of statistical methods of social research. Numerous end-of-chapter questions in every chapter reinforce key concepts to students.
Call Number: HA 29 L388 2011ISBN: 9780205638000Publication Date: 2011
Statistics by
The Eleventh Edition of this highly-regarded introductory text emphasizes inference and sound decision-making through its extensive coverage of data collection and analysis. McClave develops statistical thinking and teaches students to properly assess the credibility of inferences-from the vantage point of both the consumer and the producer. This edition incorporates more exercises and more visual features, such as redesigned end-of-chapter summaries and an increased use of applets. This text assumes a mathematical background of basic algebra.
Call Number: QA 276.12 M4 2009ISBN: 9780132069519Publication Date: 2009
Statistics: a Very Short Introduction by
Statistical ideas and methods underlie just about every aspect of modern life. From randomized clinical trials in medical research, to statistical models of risk in banking and hedge fund industries, to the statistical tools used to probe vast astronomical databases, the field of statistics has become centrally important to how we understand our world. But the discipline underlying all these is not the dull statistics of the popular imagination. Long gone are the days of manual arithmetic manipulation. Nowadays statistics is a dynamic discipline, revolutionized by the computer, which uses advanced software tools to probe numerical data, seeking structures, patterns, and relationships. This Very Short Introduction sets the study of statistics in context, describing its history and giving examples of its impact, summarizes methods of gathering and evaluating data, and explains the role played by the science of chance, of probability, in statistical methods. The book also explores deep philosophical issues of induction--how we use statistics to discern the true nature of reality from the limited observations we necessarily must make. About the Series: Combining authority with wit, accessibility, and style, Very Short Introductions offer an introduction to some of life's most interesting topics. Written by experts for the newcomer, they demonstrate the finest contemporary thinking about the central problems and issues in hundreds of key topics, from philosophy to Freud, quantum theory to Islam.
Call Number: QA 276 H3183 2008ISBN: 9780199233564Publication Date: 2008
Basic Statistics by
Basic Statistics provides an accessible and comprehensive introduction to statistics using the free, state-of-the-art, powerful software program R. This book is designed to both introduce students to key concepts in statistics and to provide simple instructions for using R. This concise book: -Teaches essential concepts in statistics, assuming little background knowledge on the part of the reader -Introduces students to R with as few sub-commands as possible for ease of use -Provides practical examples from the educational, behavioral, and social sciences With clear explanations of statistical processes and step-by-step commands in R, Basic Statistics will appeal to students and professionals across the social and behavioral sciences.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781442218468Publication Date: 2012
An Introduction to Mathematical Statistics by
Statistics is the science that focuses on drawing conclusions from data, by modeling and analyzing the data using probabilistic models. In An Introduction to Mathematical Statistics the authors describe key concepts from statistics and give a mathematical basis for important statistical methods. Much attention is paid to the sound application of those methods to data. The three main topics in statistics are estimators, tests, and confidence regions. The authors illustrate these in many examples, with a separate chapter on regression models, including linear regression and analysis of variance. They also discuss the optimality of estimators and tests, as well as the selection of the best-fitting model. Each chapter ends with a case study in which the described statistical methods are applied. This book assumes a basic knowledge of probability theory, calculus, and linear algebra. Several annexes are available for Mathematical Statistics on this page.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9789462985100Publication Date: 2017
Introductory Business Statistics by
Introductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781947172470Publication Date: 2017
Introductory Business Statistics with Interactive Spreadsheets by
Introductory Business Statistics with Interactive Spreadsheets - 1st Canadian Edition" is an adaptation of Thomas K. Tiemann's book, "Introductory Business Statistics". In addition to covering basics such as populations, samples, the difference between data and information, and sampling distributions, descriptive statistics and frequency distributions, normal and t-distributions, hypothesis testing, t-tests, f-tests, analysis of variance, non-parametric tests, and regression basics, the following information has been added: the chi-square test and categorical variables, null and alternative hypotheses for the test of independence, simple linear regression model, least squares method, coefficient of determination, confidence interval for the average of the dependent variable, and prediction interval for a specific value of the dependent variable. This new edition also allows readers to learn the basic and most commonly applied statistical techniques in business in an interactive way -- when using the web version -- through interactive Excel spreadsheets. All information has been revised to reflect Canadian content
Publication Date: 2015
Introductory Statistics by
Introductory Statistics follows the scope and sequence of a one-semester, introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. This text assumes students have been exposed to intermediate algebra, and it focuses on the applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it. The foundation of this textbook is Collaborative Statistics, by Barbara Illowsky and Susan Dean, which has been widely adopted. Introductory Statistics includes innovations in art, terminology, and practical applications, all with a goal of increasing relevance and accessibility for students. We strove to make the discipline meaningful and memorable, so that students can draw a working knowledge from it that will enrich their future studies and help them make sense of the world around them. The text also includes Collaborative Exercises, integration with TI-83,83+,84+ Calculators, technology integration problems, and statistics labs
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
