Open Education

The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms.
All materials are openly licensed. This means they are free to use, customize, and share.
The collection includes courses and textbooks, and new resources are being added all the time. To find out when new OER are added to the collection in your subject area, subscribe to the BCcampus newsletter.

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

SKME's digital librarians have curated collections of Open Textbooks and full courses to help leverage OER in your classroom. Whether you are looking for more affordable options for your students, or dynamic content to inspire your own teaching and learning practice, this hub, organized by discipline and provider will help you discover the resources you need at your fingertips.

OpenStax is the world’s largest publisher of open education resources (OER) and a provider of interactive learning technologies and education research for high school and college. We are a nonprofit initiative of Rice University.

Coursera partners with more than 300 leading universities and companies to bring flexible, affordable, job-relevant online learning to individuals and organizations worldwide. We offer a range of learning opportunities—from hands-on projects and courses to job-ready certificates and degree programs.

edX is the online learning platform from world-leading digital education company 2U, Inc. edX was founded by Harvard and MIT as an experiment to make the world’s best education available to everyone.
Today, as part of 2U, edX connects over 86 million people worldwide with online learning that delivers real professional progress across nearly every career discipline, from artificial intelligence and robotics to sustainability and public health. Together with universities and organizations at the forefront of their fields, edX offers thousands of job-relevant programs designed to give every ambitious learner a path to achievement.

Covering subjects from kindergarten through early college, including math, science, reading, computing, history, art history, economics, financial literacy, SAT, MCAT, and more, Khan Academy focuses on skill mastery to help learners build the strong foundations they need to succeed in higher education and in their careers.

Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. We offer over 100 full-length courses at the college and professional levels, each of which is available right now — at your pace, on your schedule, and free of cost.

SOL*R is a repository service provided by BCcampus that allows educators to access FREE online learning resources. It facilitates sharing, discovery, reuse, and remixing of a growing collection of content created by BC post-secondary educators

The MIT OpenCourseWare Educator Initiative supports and sustains open education teaching practices at scale. Here you’ll find pathways for discovering, adapting, and sharing the open educational resources (OER) you’ll find on our platforms. We also invite you to connect with and inspire the teaching community at MIT. Welcome, we’re glad you’re here.

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.

The Open Content Program makes high-resolution images of public domain artwork from the Getty collections freely available, without restrictions, to advance the research, teaching, and practice of art and art history.

All images are available under CC0 licenses; no attribution is required.

Open Clipart is an online media collection of more than 160 000 vectorial graphics, entirely in the public domain.

Free stock photos, illustrations, vector graphics, videos, music and sounds effects, shared and enjoyed by one of the largest creator communities in the world.

Over 6 million free high-resolution photos and illustrations.

Freely usable media files including images, videos, and sounds. Check the licence on each resource for permitted uses.

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.

Free, high-quality documentary films.

This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other communities. Videos include documentaries, historical events, educational and ephemeral topics, and lectures.

Canadian made documentaries.

Creative Commons videos on Vimeo.