Resort and Hospitality Management
Subject Headings Used in the Catalogue
Call Numbers - Where to Find Books in the Library
- G154.9 - G155.8 Travel and state.Tourism
- TX901-TX946.5 - Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
Print Books
Applied Facilities Management for the Hospitality Industry by
Applied Facilities Management for the Hospitality Industry is designed to provide readers with a practical approach to understanding the activities and responsibilities involved in managing the aspects of a hospitality enterprise. It presents real world analysis of the concerns, issues, and practices used by facilities managers in the profitable support of hospitality operations. Written in clear terms and using a common-sense approach to facilities management, the book approaches complex issues in an easy to understand and relatable manner. Specific topics include the functions and responsibilities of a facilities manager, information management, effective communication, workload planning and staffing, and financial management, among others. Applied Facilities Management for the Hospitality Industry features management tools and systems developed and used by the author in the management of large buildings and systems. Using real world experience in both the facilities and construction management of modern buildings and campuses, the book enables readers to not only understand the concepts, but also be prepared to use them in real world facilities issues in the hospitality industry.
Call Number: TX 911.3 M27 E39 2018ISBN: 9781516550210Publication Date: 2018-12-31
The Branding of Tourist Destinations by
The marketing of tourist destinations requirescontinuous strategic planning and decision making. The Branding of Tourist Destinations: Theoretical and Empirical Insights provides researchers and practitioners with an in-depth understandingof different tourism products, marketing strategies and destination branding tactics,as well as useful insights into sustainable and responsible tourism practices. The authors present contemporary conceptual discussions and empiricalstudies on several aspects of destination branding that help contextualise the attractiveness of a range of tourist destinations. In particular, they explore how tourism marketers, including destination management organisations(DMOs), formulate strategies and tactics to attract prospective visitors. This book also sheds light on the latest industry developments in travel,tourism, hospitality and events indifferent contexts around the world, including destinations in Sweden, Portugal, Spain, Italy and Ecuador.
Call Number: G 155 A1 B73 2019ISBN: 9781787693746Publication Date: 2018-12-04
Check-In Check-Out by
The leading guide to managing profitable hotel operations. Extensively revised to reflect the industry's rapid changes, this widely popular guide presents rich detail about best practices and future directions in the hotel industry, while offering the widest coverage of any book in the field. Readers gain an intuitive understanding based on the flow of the guest's experience, from reservation, arrival, and registration, to service purchasing, departure, billing, and recordkeeping. The entire rooms division is covered thoroughly, and linked to other hospitality functions, related industries, and the broader economy. Coverage includes internationalization; green operations; financing sources; boutique and urban collections; and reservations strategies. Check-in Check-Out: Managing Hotel Operations, 10/e has been updated throughout to cover such current topics such as detail cancellation policies for major OTA channels, leading-edge technology and reservations, mobile apps and devices, global distribution, third-party housing poachers or pirates, conflicts over master billing, EMV technology and the rising popularity of smart cards, night audit reports, cyber security in the hospitality industry, and much more. Included are over 150 exhibits to promote visual learning.
Call Number: TX 911.3 M27 V352 2018ISBN: 9780134303505Publication Date: 2017-05-26
Hotel Operations Management by
For the Introduction to Hotel Operations or Introduction to Lodging course in Hospitality Management departments. Hotel Operations Management provides an up-to-date and comprehensive examination of all aspects of hotel administration from the viewpoint of the hotel general manager. Detailed information addresses the operating departments of a full-service hotel: Human Resources; Controller; The Front Office; Housekeeping; Food and Beverage; Safety and Property Security; Sales and Marketing; Accounting; and Facility Engineering and Maintenance. In-depth discussions highlight the importance of human resources in the labor-intensive hotel industry, franchising and contract management of properties in an ever-decreasing "Mom and Pop" segment, and hotel management in a global environment. Updated throughout to ensure that readers have the latest information, the 3rd Edition also includes new case studies, an entirely new chapter on guest services, and new end-of-chapter questions. This accurate book will give prospective hotel managers insight into all of the procedures effective managers use to ensure their hotel's--and their own--success.
Call Number: TX 911.3 M27 H39 2016ISBN: 9780134337623Publication Date: 2016-07-20
Mass Tourism in a Small World by
This book reviews all aspects of the phenomenon of mass tourism. It covers theoretical perspectives (including political economy, ethics, sustainability and environmentalism), the historical context, and the current challenges to domestic, intra-regional and international mass tourism. As tourism and tourist numbers continue to grow around the world, it becomes increasingly important that this subject is studied in depth and best practice applied in real-life situations. This book: - Is the first to address a range of theoretical issues relating to mass tourism; - Uses a wide selection of case studies to translate theory into practice, covering the historical rise and fall of UK seaside resorts, the increase in Chinese tourism, conflict between different mass tourism groups, destination transformation from mass to niche tourism, and specific problems facing cruise ships; - Is written by a range of international, established authors to give a global perspective on the subject. Finishing with a speculative chapter identifying potential future trends and challenges, this book forms an essential resource for all researchers and students within tourism studies.
Call Number: G 155 A1 M3447 2017ISBN: 9781780648545Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Overtourism by
Before COVID-19 hit, the biggest problem in the world of travel was overtourism. Crowds threatened to spoil natural environments and make daily life unbearable for residents of popular travel destinations. Then, seemingly overnight, tourism nearly ceased. Yet there is no question that travel will resume; the only question is, when it does, what will it look like? Will we return to a world of overrun monuments, littered beaches, and gridlocked city streets? Or can we do things differently this time? Overtourism: Lessons for a Better Future charts a path toward tourism that is truly sustainable, focusing on the triple bottom line of people, planet, and prosperity. Bringing together tourism officials, city council members, travel journalists, consultants, scholars, and trade association members, this practical book explores overcrowding from a variety of perspectives. After examining the causes and effects of overtourism, it turns to management approaches in five distinct types of tourism destinations: 1. historic cities; 2. national parks and protected areas; 3. World Heritage Sites; 4. beaches and coastal communities; and 5. destinations governed by regional and national authorities. While each location presents its own challenges, common mitigation strategies are emerging. Visitor education, traffic planning, and redirection to lesser-known sites are among the measures that can protect the economic benefit of tourism without overwhelming local communities. As tourism revives around the world, these innovations will guide government agencies, parks officials, site managers, civic groups, environmental NGOs, tourism operators, and others with a stake in protecting our most iconic places.
ISBN: 9781642830767Publication Date: 2021-05-27
Resorts by
The 3rd Edition of Resorts: Management andOperation is a summary of almost 30 years of thought, analysis,and research into the field of resort management written from abusiness viewpoint yet takes into account the unique structure ofresorts. The text is divided into three sections. Each section hasa philosophical basis for the inclusion of the subsequentprinciples and practices. The first section covers major types of resorts: those that aremountain-based, beach-based and golf/tennis based. Two chapters aredevoted to each of the various resort types. The first chapters ofeach resort type focuses on development issues with the impact onoperations noted throughout. The second chapter in each resort typedeals with guest profiles and management issues. The second sectionhighlights what makes managing a resort different from managing a'regular' hotel. The final section features a newly expandedchapter on spas, pools, and indoor water parks along withindividual chapters on specialty resorts, cruise ships and casinos,reflecting the importance of these types of properties.
Call Number: TX 911.3 M27 M538 2012ISBN: 1118071824Publication Date: 2011-09-21
Tourism Planning and Destination Marketing by
Destination marketing relies on planning, organisation, and successful strategies and tactics. Tourism Planning and Destination Marketing provides an in-depth understanding of the tourism marketing environment, including destination branding, distribution channels, etourism, digital media, and sustainable and responsible tourism practices. It is a useful guide for tourism marketers, including destination management organisations (DMOs), who are increasingly using innovative tools and evolving technologies to engage with prospective visitors. Moreover, this title sheds light on the latest developments in travel, hospitality, festivals and events, as the contributing authors have critically analysed the global tourism marketing environments that comprise a wide array of economic, socio-cultural, technological and environmental realities. This book explores advances in tourism planning and destination marketing theory for the interest of both researchers and scholars. Furthermore, it is an invaluable resource for a wide range of industry practitioners, including consultants, senior executives and managers who work for destination management organisations, tourism offices, hotels, inbound/outbound tour operators and travel agents.
Call Number: G 155 A1 T687 2019ISBN: 9781787562929Publication Date: 2018-11-01
eBooks
American Hotel by
Completed in 1931, New York's Waldorf-Astoria towers over Park Avenue as an international landmark and a masterpiece of Art Deco architecture. A symbol of elegance and luxury, the hotel has hosted countless movie stars, business tycoons, and world leaders over the past ninety years. American Hotel takes us behind the glittering image to reveal the full extent of the Waldorf's contribution toward shaping twentieth-century life and culture. Historian David Freeland examines the Waldorf from the opening of its first location in 1893 through its rise to a place of influence on the local, national, and international stage. Along the way, he explores how the hotel's mission to provide hospitality to a diverse range of guests was put to the test by events such as Prohibition, the anticommunist Red Scare, and civil rights struggles. Alongside famous guests like Frank Sinatra, Martin Luther King, Richard Nixon, and Eleanor Roosevelt, readers will meet the lesser-known men and women who made the Waldorf a leader in the hotel industry and a key setting for international events. American Hotel chronicles how institutions such as the Waldorf-Astoria played an essential role in New York's growth as a world capital.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813594392Publication Date: 2021-05-14
The Future Past of Tourism by
This book offers a critical account of the historical evolution of tourism through the identification and discussion of key turning points. Based on these considerations, future turning points are identified and evaluated. The volume provides a continuum between the past and future of tourism. Its central themes are the globalisation of tourism; the development of destinations; the importance of mobility and transport; the development of the modern hotel; the diversification of niche tourism and the conceptualisation of the past and future of tourism using the evolutionary paradigm in future studies. The core findings of the book provide the first perspective on how the history of tourism will shape its future.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845417062Publication Date: 2019-12-06
Gamification for Tourism by
This book examines the cutting-edge concept of gamification in tourism. It provides a theoretical foundation for tourism gamification and discusses the concepts of gaming and gamification and their application in the tourism and hospitality industry. The chapters offer valuable insights by showcasing examples of best practice from different countries and addressing key issues of game mechanism and game design principles. They focus on areas such as game design elements, game player types and their motivation, location-based games, augmented reality and virtual reality games. The volume will be useful for students and researchers in tourism marketing, digital tourism, smart tourism and tourism futures. It also serves as a helpful tool for tourism industry practitioners looking to increase customer engagement, enhance loyalty and raise brand awareness.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845418229Publication Date: 2021-05-10- Introduction to tourism and hospitality in BC by ummary: "This textbook is an introduction to the tourism and hospitality industry in British Columbia, and is written with a first year college and university audience in mind. It is a collaborative work with input from educators, industry leaders, employers, and past graduates of BC's tourism and hospitality management programs. All chapters have been reviewed by experts in the field. Each chapter is organized thematically moving from a global, then national, and finally provincial context. Chapters contain "Spotlight On" boxes that highlight an organization, business, or other key component and "Take a Closer Look" features that encourage further reading on particular subjects. Key terms, exercises and case studies can be found at the end of each chapter"--BCcampus website.Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2020
Philosophies of Hospitality and Tourism by
This book introduces readers to philosophies of hospitality and tourism. It provides insights into classic philosophical concepts and explains how these can inform the actions of tourism stakeholders, practitioners, hosts and tourists. The volume explores four main areas: the nexus of philosophy with tourism and hospitality; the philosophy of giving in hospitality and tourism; the receiving-end, such as emotional tourist experiences, happiness and overtourism, including the notion of 'gluttony'; and philosophical issues related to tourism development, such as the spirit of places and thanatourism. The discussion of philanthropy within the context of tourism is a strength of the book and will be important in a post-Covid-19 tourism industry. The book will be of interest to students, researchers and practitioners in tourism and hospitality.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845417369Publication Date: 2020-11-05
The Rebirth of Bourbon: : Building a Tourism Economy in Small-Town, USA by
Welcome to Bardstown, KY: The Bourbon Capital of the World® Bourbon's popularity is now a global phenomenon, but you need only look at Bardstown, Kentucky, to see its remarkable and evolving impacts. This historic city of 13,500 people is booming as a result, but it's also enduring growing pains. The economic impacts from a massive influx of tourists to what is now America's bourbon epicenter are positive on many levels, but with those crowds comes pressure on infrastructure, services and accommodations. The demand for hotels, bars and restaurants is at an all-time high, and investors from across the globe are addressing those needs. Still, as a two-century-old Kentucky cultural and entertainment center long before it was discovered by bourbon drinkers ;- many locals want to ensure the traditional Bardstown experience doesn't disappear amid novel entertainment options.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781838677145Publication Date: 2020-09-04
Tourism : An Introduction by
'Argued with a real verve, it makes a plea to rethink the role of tourism in modernity seeing it not as a fleeting and marginal element, but as something enduring, emblematic and constitutive of contemporary society. Tourism is seen as a key element of modern life, not an escape from it' - Mike Crang, Department of Geography, University of Durham Tourism is a rapidly growing area of student enrolment. Lecturers and students who have waited patiently for an up-to-date, lucid and indispensable teaching and research text, need wait no more. This book is a matchless guide to understanding the theory, practice, development and effects of tourism. Tourism: An Introduction: - equips students with a critical perspective of the central processes of tourism and the relationship between tourism and culture - places tourism at the heart of modern life rather than as a peripheral feature added on after work - illuminates the relationship between tourism and nation formation, citizenship, consumerism and globalization - reveals the ritual, performative and embodied dimensions of tourist experience This book offers readers a major synthesis of modern thought on tourism. It breaks the mould of approaching tourism as a self-contained, compartment of contemporary life and treats it as a major and exciting cultural phenomenon. This is a landmark work in the study of tourism. Adrian Franklin is the editor of the acclaimed journal Tourist Studies (SAGE Publications).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761967606Publication Date: 2003-04-22
Tourism and Earthquakes by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the relationship between tourism and earthquakes through all stages of a disaster. It discusses the measures available to manage tourism after earthquakes and examines the means to mitigate the potential impacts of earthquakes on tourism. The chapters address important questions such as 'are tourists who come to earthquake regions immediately after an earthquake a benefit or a burden for recovery?' and 'should priority be given to evacuate tourists after an earthquake hits?'. The volume provides insights into the ethical, commercial and socioeconomic issues facing tourism after a major earthquake. It will be useful to students and researchers in tourism studies, tourism planning and marketing, natural hazards, and destination and disaster management.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781845417857Publication Date: 2020-10-08
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
