Library Resources for Instructors.

The Faculty OER Toolkit is an information resource about and guide to adapting and adopting Open Educational Resources. Included are definitions and examples, information about Creative Commons licensing, and tips on how to adapt and/or adopt OER for classroom use.

The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.

The Information Directory lays out current events, opinions, and OER investigations related to open education in four categories: blogs, books,news, and research. It was created to fulfill the need for Canadian-based information, specifically British Columbia, on open education. However, the Information Directory also includes content from other English-speaking countries with chapters for the United States, the Northern hemisphere, and the Southern hemisphere. This directory is considered an ongoing resource and will be updated as information comes available. A “Last update” textbox is posted at the top of each chapter to clearly indicate when information was last added.

The "OER Toolkit for Trades Instructors: Adopting an Open Education Resource & Integrating it into a Trades Course" illustrates a snapshot of the OER adoption process. This Toolkit is designed to answer questions posed by BC Trades instructors specifically, but the steps described will also support similar projects in other disciplines and programs. The Toolkit is presented in the form of a (possible) case study, which is based on questions and issues shared by Trades instructors from three BC post-secondary institutions: Camosun College, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, and University of the Fraser Valley. OER Toolkit for Trades Instructors includes a quick reference guide of definitions, summary of a sample course, a step-by-step guide to implementing course revisions and OER adoption, links to external resources, a sample module and a range of best practice examples. Following three phases of an adoption process (Phase – Take stock; Phase 2 – Make a plan; Phase 3 – Adopt and evaluate), the Toolkit also explores the motivation of the user and why instructors adopt OERs.

Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.