Nursing
Call Numbers - Where to Find Books in the Library
The Selkirk College library uses The National Library of Medicine Classification System for nursing books which can be found in the library in the following sections:
WY 1-49 Reference Works
WY 77-88 Economics. Ethics. Philosophy. Psychological Aspects
WY 90-100.7 Referral. Nursing Care, Assessment and Audit
WY 101-145 Nursing Specialties
WY 150-170 Nursing in Special Fields of Medicine
WY 191-200 Other Service
Subject Headings Used in the Catalogue
Print Books
Critical Care Nursing by
Selected by Doody's as a Core Title for Critical Care Nursing in Health Science and deemed as an "Essential Purchase."​ Prepare your students for successful critical care nursing practice! Focusing on preparing students to provide optimal care for critically ill patients and their families, this updated 11th Edition of Morton's classic text integrates the latest research in health care and nursing education, while providing clear, concise writing; outstanding photographs and illustrations; and a holistic approach to the complexities of critical care nursing. By presenting theory and principles within the context of practical application, the authors promote critical thinking and clinical decision-making in every chapter and emphasize the patient as the center of the health care team's efforts. KEY FEATURES NEW! QSEN icons signal pertinent content within the text. Updated Spotlight on Genetics boxes include important genetic information and summaries of selected genetic disorders. Updated Case Studies with Critical Thinking Questions guide students on the journey from knowledge to practical application. Updated Evidence-Based Practice boxes include excerpts from the latest AACN practice alerts and published research, helping readers understand the importance of research-based practice. Considerations for Older Patients boxes highlight the special needs of the fastest growing segment of our population. Patient Safety boxes guide safe and effective practice by alerting the critical care nurse to risk factors, signs and symptoms, side effects, and complications. Health History boxes summarize key areas to cover and relevant information that may be revealed during the health history. Collaborative Care Guides incorporate nursing diagnoses and emphasize outcomes and interventions based on teamwork and collaboration. Online student resources include short videos, animations, review questions, and much more. Lippincott DocuCare , a web-based educational EHR simulation software, available for purchase, further supports your students' readiness for practice.
Call Number: WY 154 C744 2018ISBN: 9781496315625Publication Date: 2017-02-10
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing by
For courses in nursing management in programs including baccalaureate degrees in generic and BSN completion, and graduate-level nursing programs; for education departments in health care organizations; for nurses in clinical practice who aspire to leadership; and for nurses already in leadership positions. More than ever before, today's rapidly changing, volatile healthcare environment demands highly developed management skills and superb leadership. Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing will help both practicing and student nurses manage successfully today, as well as into the future. This book combines practicality with conceptual understanding, tapping expertise of contributors from many relevant disciplines, especially healthcare management professionals. Updated to reflect the current state of healthcare, the Ninth Edition offers new or expanded coverage of the Affordable Care Act; evolving models of healthcare; cultural and gender diversity; quality management; emotional leadership; social media; harassing, bullying, and lack of civility in healthcare; emergency preparedness for terrorism, disasters, and mass shootings; and prevention of workplace violence. Two new chapters round out this award-winning text: "Understanding Legal and Ethical Issues" and "Imagining the Future."
Call Number: WY 105 S85 2018ISBN: 9780134153117Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Evidence-based practice in nursing & healthcare : a guide to best practice by
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare: A Guide to Best Practice, 4th Edition Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, APRN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN and Ellen Fineout-Overholt, PhD, RN, FNAP, FAAN Enhance your clinical decision-making capabilities and improve patient outcomes through evidence-based practice. Develop the skills and knowledge you need to make evidence-based practice (EBP) an integral part of your clinical decision-making and everyday nursing practice with this proven, approachable text. Written in a straightforward, conversational style, Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing & Healthcare delivers real-world examples and meaningful strategies in every chapter to help you confidently meet today's clinical challenges and ensure positive patient outcomes. NEW! Making Connections: An EBP Exemplar opens each unit, immersing you in an unfolding case study of EBP in real-life practice. NEW! Chapters reflect the most current implications of EBP on health policy and the context, content, and outcomes of implementing EBP competencies in clinical and academic settings. NEW! Learning objectives and EBP Terms to Learn at both the unit and chapter levels help you study efficiently and stay focused on essential concepts and vocabulary. Making EBP Real features continue to end each unit with real-world examples that demonstrate the principles of EBP applied. EBP Fast Facts reinforce key points at a glance. Clinical Scenarios clarify the EBP process and enhance your rapid appraisal capabilities.
Call Number: WY 100.7 M44 2019ISBN: 9781496384539Publication Date: 2019
Fast Facts on Combating Nurse Bullying, Incivility, and Workplace Violence by
This pocket-sized, quick-access guide gives nurses crucial information they need to understand, identify, and effectively counter incivility, bullying, and violence in all nursing settings. Viewing nurse bullying as an institutional problem, this text expounds upon the American Nurses Association (ANA) position statement "Incivility, Bullying, and Workplace Violence" and includes definitions and statistics about nurse bullying and guidance on what nurses at any level can do when faced with a bully. Delivered in an easy-to-read, bulleted format, this resource covers all aspects of the problem, explores why nurses bully each other, and discusses and quantifies the cost and impact of bullying on individuals, the workplace, and the broader health care system. Four institutional case study chapters delineate the different forms bullying can take and provide advice on how to handle them, and a "bully-proofing" chapter offers such useful tools as a bullying checklist and a guide to "de-toxifying" the workplace, as well as an explanation of the ANA Code of Ethics as it relates to bullying. Key Features: Addresses all facets of nurse bullying, from origins and manifestations to evidence-based interventions and prevention strategies; Based on the hallmark ANA document "Incivility, Bullying, and Workplace Violence"; Contains 10 instructive case studies depicting common bullying scenarios; Proivdes a wealth of anti-bullying resources for use in all nursing settings. -- from back cover.
Call Number: WY 88 C557 2018ISBN: 9780826138170Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Handbook of Informatics for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals by
For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-to-date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.
Call Number: WY 26.5 H443H 2019ISBN: 0134711017Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Lippincott Visual Nursing by
For an image-rich guide to the clinical concepts and on-the-unit skills needed to treat the major common diseases, look no further than the fully updated Lippincott Visual Nursing , 3rd Edition . Using clear, concise definitions backed by abundant images, this vital text explains disease pathophysiology, with expert guidance on anatomy, symptoms, assessment skills, and hands-on patient care. Ideal for students, new nurses, and experienced nurses needing a review, this is a must-have guide to providing appropriate, effective patient care. Follow these real-world visuals and top-notch directions for treating common diseases. . . NEW enhanced eBook included with purchase NEW flow charts showing clinical manifestations and leading to diagnosis, showing improvement or decline NEW format --tests, procedures, and treatments for each system now appearing before discussion of diseases NEW diagnoses added for diseases throughout the text Dozens of colorful illustrations, photos, waveforms, and diagrams that clearly demonstrate concepts and descriptions Step-by-step guidance on basic assessment skills, including: gathering subjective and objective data, questions to ask, documentation, and more Step-by-step assessment and treatment instructions that enhance your nursing skills and confidence Chapters addressing individual body systems: respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, renal and urologic, hematologic and immunologic, endocrine, integumentary, and male and female reproductive care Each body system chapter addresses: Major diseases affecting that system Normal anatomy--descriptions and images Pathophysiology of common health problems Lab tests and imaging studies Disease development Signs, symptoms, stages, and prevention Treatments--drug therapies, procedures, and surgery Nursing considerations--assessing patient decision-making ability, monitoring for complications, checking vital signs, post-operative care, and more Comparative charts that list diseases, their causes, persons at risk, symptoms, assessment findings, diagnoses, treatments, interventions Ideal study and review text for visual learners --colorful images that support other nursing texts, making it easy to learn and retain information Summarizes the major diseases and nursing considerations and interventions clearly and concisely Chapter features that include: Picturing Patho --flowcharts that show the effects of complex diseases Hands On --photographs that illustrate nursing procedures and treatments Lesson Plans --summaries of vital information for patient and family education Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Debra P. Kantor, PhD, RN, is an Associate Professor of Nursing at The Barbara H. Hagan School of Nursing, Molloy College, Rockville Centre, New York.
Call Number: WY 17 V57 2019ISBN: 1496381785Publication Date: 2018-02-17
The Nurse Manager's Survival Guide by
The nurse manager role today -- Management fundamentals : an overview -- Human resource management : building the right team -- Day-to-day operations -- Effective communications : driver for safety and quality -- Effective time management -- Resource management and budgeting basics -- Taking care of yourself and your team -- When bad things happen to good managers -- Where to from here?
Call Number: WY 105 M389 2018ISBN: 9781945157417Publication Date: 2017-09-01
Orthopedic Nursing,an Issue of Nursing Clinics of North America by
Together with Consulting Editor Dr. Stephen Krau, Tandy Gabbert has put together a comprehensive issue that discusses important clinical topics for orthopedic nurses. Expert authors have contributed clinical review articles on the following topics: Proactive wellness care for the patient with osteoarthritis; Innovations in care of the elderly hip fracture patient; A Day in the Life of Advanced Practice Nurses providing care to patients with musculoskeletal conditions; Emerging spine care trends and innovations; Fighting the epidemic: Bone health and osteoporosis; An update on total joint arthroplasty: Current models of care, strategies and innovations providing the best patient outcomes, and the big changes in the patient experience; Legal implications in the care of orthopedic patients: Serious complications and how to prevent them; New on the scene: Orthopedic Nurse Navigator; Pain management for the orthopedic patient, closing the gap; Advances in sports medicine and care of the adolescent athlete; The ever changing world of limb salvage surgery for malignant bone tumors; and Excellence in patient education: Evidence-based education that improves patient outcomes. Readers will come away with the information they need to improve outcomes in orthopedic patients.
Call Number: WY 157.6 O78 2020ISBN: 9780323695633Publication Date: 2020-05-22
Palliative Care Nursing by
"This 5th edition is an important achievement; it is a symbol of commitment to the field of palliative nursing, where we have been and where we are going." - Betty Rolling Ferrell, PhD, MA, FAAN, FPCN, CHPN From the Foreword The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured. Palliative Care Nursing, Fifth Edition, delivers advanced empirical, aesthetic, ethical and personal knowledge. This new edition brings an increased focus on outcomes, benchmarking progress, and goals of care. It expounds upon the importance of the cross-disciplinary collaboration introduced in the previous edition. Every chapter in Sections I, II, and III includes content written by a non-nursing member of the interprofessional team. Based on best-evidence and clinical practice guidelines, this text presents comprehensive, targeted interventions responsive to the needs of palliative and hospice patients and family. Each chapter contains compassionate, timely, appropriate, and cost-effective care for diverse populations across the illness trajectory. Key FeaturesThe expanded new edition offers current, comprehensive, one-stop source of highly-relevant clinical information on palliative careLife-span approach: age-appropriate nursing considerations (e.g. geriatric, pediatric and family)Includes disease-specific and symptom-specific nursing management chaptersPromotes a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to palliative careOffers important legal, ethical and cultural considerations related to death and dyingCase Studies with Case Study Conclusion in each clinical chapter New to The Fifth Edition: An expanded chapter on Palliative Care incorporates most up to date scope and standards, information on Basic and Advanced HPNA certification, self-reflection and self-care for nurses.A chapter on Interprofessional CollaborationInstructor Resources: Power points and Test bank
Call Number: WY 152.3 P35 2019ISBN: 9780826127129Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Realities of Canadian Nursing by
From a uniquely Canadian perspective, Realities of Canadian Nursing explores the most important and timely professional, legal, ethical, political, social, economic, and environmental issues today. The value of this text is that students' gain a knowledge base of issues and trends while the authors transform their thinking and inspire students to participate in political action alongside the generations of nurses who have already taken the lead. Influential scholars throughout Canada critically analyze and do not shy away from the tensions and contradictions that exist between nurses' legislated authority to self-regulate and the changing nature and realities of nurses' work while inspiring more nurses to influence decision making in professional associations, collective bargaining units, government, and workplace. Realities of Canadian Nursing helps students understand the long-standing barriers to many of the issues that confront nurses and the Canadians who seek nurses' services. With this understanding, graduates will be in the best position to make contributions to their resolution. The authors know that students can learn about issues and trends in nursing and healthcare in a variety of ways, and they go to great lengths to ensure the text offers readers more than an update on issues in nursing and healthcare. In chapter 1 of the text, the authors offer a Framework for Analysis, which gives students and educators a shared and organized format through which to identify, analyze, and most importantly, to strategize about solving the issues. An explicit goal of the Realities of Canadian Nursing is to model for students how changes to nursing and healthcare can only happen with informed political action on the part of nurses. The text also guides students through a reflection on how they can change the conversation in healthcare and give voice to the unheard concerns of nurses. In this edition, the authors will retain the content and features that have made this text the mostly widely used issues and trends book in the Canada, while creating space for new and emerging health care issues including Canada's Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) and the subsequent Calls to Action. Our text is packaged with learning/teaching tools designed to prepare students for the NCLEX as well as help faculty integrate their course resources with their required text. We also offer Powerpoint presentations, an Image Bank, Strategies for Effective Teaching, and Case Study Scenarios with related short answer questions and answers that can be assigned for homework or used in class.
Call Number: XXRT6 .A1 R435 2019ISBN: 1496384040Publication Date: 2018-02-10
Rural Nursing, Fifth Edition by
The newly revised fifth edition of this authoritative classic continues to be the only text to focus specifically on rural nursing concepts, theory, research, practice, education, public health, and healthcare delivery from a national and international perspective. Updated with 22 new chapters, these additions expand upon the rural nursing theory base and research. Content delves into the life of rural nurses, addressing their unique day-to-day challenges of living without anonymity, often acting as the sole healthcare provider, and establishing self-reliance as a nurse generalist. New chapters provide information on unique populations, such as veterans and Native Americans, as well as specific types of care, such as palliative nursing, bereavement support, substance abuse treatment, and much more. Free, searchable, digital access to the entire contents of the book and PowerPoint slides accompany the text.
Call Number: WY 106 R87 2018ISBN: 9780826161673Publication Date: 2018-03-28
eBooks
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781496398239Publication Date: 2020-04-29
Battling Healthcare Burnout by
When physicians and nurses suffer from burnout, patients suffer as well. This book pinpoints the how and why and shows what healthcare providers and their organizations can do. Burnout is among the most critical topics in healthcare as it deprives us of our most important resource--the talents and passion of those who perform the difficult work of caring for patients and their families. The purpose of this book is to provide not only a taxonomy of burnout within the landscape of healthcare but also to provide pathways for healthcare professionals to guide themselves and their organizations toward changing the culture and systems of their organization. The work of battling burnout begins from within. Thom Mayer views every healthcare team member as both a leader and performance athlete, engaged in a cycle of performance, training, and recovery. In these roles, they must both lead and protect themselves and their teams. Battling Healthcare Burnout looks at individuals' role in promoting change within themselves and their organization and addresses solutions to change the culture and systems of work. Both are presented with a pragmatic focusand a liberal use of examples and case studies, including those from several nationally recognized healthcare systems.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781523089925Publication Date: 2021-06-29
Cardiac Nursing by
Awarded Third Place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Critical Care/Emergency, and 5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781975106324Publication Date: 2021-01-07
Clinical Teaching in Canadian Nursing by
As a practice-based profession, clinical learning experiences play an important role in supporting nursing students toward developing the knowledge, skills, and attitudes they need to work in a wide range of practice settings and specialty areas. The role of the clinical instructor is to facilitate students'progress and to prepare them to meet entry-to-practice competencies. To fulfil that role, clinical instructors need to extend their expertise as practitioners to also become effective educators. They must demonstrate a comprehensive understanding of the curriculum students are required to follow at both the program and course level. They must also understand the policies, procedures, and everyday tasks implemented in the clinical areas where they teach students. As key members of both academic communities and practice communities, clinical instructors are required to establish collaborations among their students, their faculty colleagues, and the health professionals they encounter in clinical placements. Straddling the complexities of being a clinical instructor is not easy. This innovative text provides essential theoretical and practice-focused information for clinical instructors teaching in nursing programs in Canada as they learn to navigate this multifaceted role. Written by experts in clinical teaching from across Canada, this textbook will be of value to both those new to clinical instruction and those who have years of experience but are interested in continually improving their pedagogical knowledge and skills. Topics range from the historical context of practice-based learning to clinical teaching in various settings including acute care and community. The role of the clinical instructor, the pedagogy of clinical teaching, clinical judgment and reasoning in the clinical setting, and clinical evaluation are all discussed. Finally, the legal and ethical dimensions of clinical instruction are reviewed, and case examples are provided. This content reflects the Canadian Association Schools of Nursing standards for excellence for undergraduate clinical instructors. Throughout the book, emphasis is placed on the positive impact an educator's own commitment to lifelong learning can have on the clinical instructor's role.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781989648216Publication Date: 2022
The Ethic of Care: a Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice - Revised Edition by
There is an increased use of technology and informatics, heavier workloads and constant changes in the way in which disease processes are managed. Yet, when compared with other health professionals, nurses still spend a great deal of time in direct contact with patients and clients. They stay at the bedside, listen to their stories, give comfort and advocate. The Ethic of Care: A Moral Compass for Canadian Nursing Practice is unique from other nursing ethics textbooks in several key ways. The book adds a heightened dimension to the already rich knowledge in the field of applied nursing ethics and the ethic of care. The author argues that the ethic of care, or the moral imperative to act justly, be the guiding compass for everything that nurses do. It is with passion and conviction that nurses are encouraged to embody the ethic of care as a "lived virtue." Nurses are also inspired to be the leaders of tomorrow by working toward achieving accountability and sustainability in the Canadian publicly funded health care system and by effectively addressing social inequities. At the end of each chapter the author conveys real life case studies, as derived from her experiences as a critical care nurse, psychiatric nurse clinician and former Coroner. These vignettes bring the subject to life and serve as a means for applying newly acquired ethical knowledge. The aim of this book is to inspire nurses to be as skillful, and compassionate as they can be so that they will leave every encounter with their clients, better than when they first arrived. The book attempts to inspire nurses to be ethical leaders for social change at the patient/client, community and global level. This revised edition of the book includes additional information about trauma-informed care to combat systemic racism and improve the health outcomes for Indigenous peoples; ethics, gender and sexual orientation is dealt with in an inclusive and sensitive way, and a new Code of Conduct has been included.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789811439636Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Mental Health Strategies for Pediatric Care by
For many children and teens, primary care clinicians are the first to notice and help with mental health issues. This guide helps primary care pediatricians, family doctors, nurse practitioners, and other professionals identify, treat, and prevent mental health problems as well as promote good mental health in their patients. The authors come from different medical specialties but emphasize common factors and elements in approaching mental health care in the primary practice setting. Clinicians will gain insight into effective methods for helping patients and families share mental health concerns, learn about mental health issues, and develop positive attitudes about seeking treatment from specialty providers. They will also learn how to more effectively deal with issues that are below the level of a diagnosable disorder and use early, first-line therapeutic strategies for common mental health disorders. Also included are techniques for supporting patients and families in maintaining positive emotional and behavioral changes that resulted from specialty treatment with other providers.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781610025485Publication Date: 2021-12-30
A New Order of Things by
Nursing practice changed dramatically in the mid-1960s as experiments across the country demonstrated the effectiveness of nurses' expanded diagnostic and decision-making authority. The result was a new breed of nurse, the nurse practitioner. In A New Order of Things, Freund takes readers through that evolution. Beginning with a demonstration project at the University of North Carolina, leading to the emergence of an innovative nurse practitioner training program, the siting of rural clinics with nurse practitioners as the primary providers of health services, a consortium of nurse practitioner training programs spanning the state, and ultimately to a movement: a new order of advanced nursing practice and primary care service delivery. A New Order of Things is unique in that it documents a history with contemporary relevance, a case study illustrating how a major innovation was strategically engineered toward adoption at the organizational, health system, and state levels. Using multiple sources of historical records and 36 hours of interviews with leaders of the N.C. nurse practitioner movement, Freund illustrates how change leaders formed alliances in a politically nuanced process, thought ahead and of the present moment simultaneously, were adept at recognizing subtle clues and nimble enough to take advantage of opportune moments. This story is N.C.'s story, but it is far more than that. It is a story for any health professional striving to make change in health services and move an innovative idea into widespread adoption.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781469672861Publication Date: 2022-08-15
Rituals and Myths in Nursing by
Nursing is a complex profession steeped in tradition and history. Tried and tested ways of working have been the mainstay of how and why nurses do what they do. Completing tasks in a certain way because "Sister says so" describes the custom and practice of nursing, passed on through the generations that existed for most of the 20th Century and can still hold sway today.Science and evidence-based practice have weakened the hold on tradition but ritual is still part of the fabric of nursing. Packed with amusing and sometimes poignant reminiscences this book paints a picture of nursing from the first registration of SRN No 1, Ethel Bedford Fenwick in 1919, to the present day.Each chapter follows a theme, explores the historical background and brings it to life with stories told by nurses from different eras. We have tales of alcohol prescribed to dilate blood vessels or simply for the feel good factor. Enemas were less fun, given for almost all bowel conditions; 'High, hot and a helluva lot!' was the phrase for remembering this ritual.Written with humour and a light touch, readers don't need a nursing background to enjoy these stories, but those who trained as nurses will identify with many of the amusing and often eccentric traditions retold by generations of nurses.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781473896611Publication Date: 2019-12-27
Toxic Nursing: Managing Bullying, Bad Attitudes, and Total Turmoil by
Today's nurse managers--tasked with a wide array of responsibilities from staffing and budgeting to promoting safe and effective patient care--face unprecedented demands in their role as leaders of the largest healthcare workforce in the industry. They must be clinically competent, relationally savvy, and administratively gifted--and find the time to create and sustain a healthy work environment. In addition to those demands, the lopsided aging of the population has had a double impact: More nurses are retiring from the profession at the same time as elderly baby boomers require increasingly complex and costly care. As nursing workforce retirements increase, a continued push for effective leadership will be critical to healthcare outcomes in the coming decades. As workforce shortages continue, it will be critical to educate managers who can advocate for, support, and empower staff. Healthcare organizations have a duty to provide nurse managers with the tools and support needed to manage effectively. Toxic Nursing is an integral part of that education. Each chapter begins with an overview of particular areas where nurse toxicity often arises. Following that is a section titled "Clearing Toxicity: Scenarios, Insights, and Reflections." Here there are scenarios based on real-life accounts, with insight and advice from nurse leaders--a group of 31 experts in nursing management who were asked to respond to the narratives from the perspective of preventing, addressing, or minimizing the consequences of conflict. Experts were asked to avoid citing references and rely on their own experiences and intuitive skills to provide practical advice about the situation. Following the "Nurse Leader Insight" section are "Reflections" with prompts to help readers explore the issues presented. At the end of each chapter is a section called "Fostering Cultural Change" that can help guide you as you explore with your staff methods to decrease toxicity and promote a healthier and more satisfying work environment. Toxic Nursing, Second Edition helps nurses--from bedside nurses to charge nurses to nurse managers--navigate the nuances and gray areas of toxic behavior.
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781948057592Publication Date: 2020-08-19
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secwépemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
