Skip to Main Content

APA Style Guide

Template - entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of work (Vol. number, pp. xxx-xxx). Publisher. DOI or URL

Tip: Include editor names, volume numbers, and page ranges only if the information is readily available

Encyclopedia entry - print

Bergmann, P. G. (2002). Relativity. In The new encyclopaedia Britannica (Vol. 26, pp. 501-508). Encyclopaedia Britannica.

Parenthetical in-text: (Bergmann, 2002)

Narrative in-text: Bergmann (2002)

Encyclopedia entry - from a website

Varley, C., & Bingham, R. (2019, November 14). Group of Seven. In The Canadian encyclopedia. Historica Canada.

          https://thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/group-of-seven

Parenthetical in-text: (Varley & Bingham, 2019)

Narrative in-text: Varley & Bingham (2019)

Reference work entry - archived version

COVID-19 pandemic. (2020, May 30). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/ index.php?title=COVID-

          19_pandemic&oldid=959796775

Tip: If the URL is for an archived version of a reference work then a retrieval date is not required. Access the archived version on Wikipedia by selecting "View history" and then the time and date of the version you used.

Parenthetical in-text: ("COVID-19 Pandemic," 2020)

Narrative in-text: "COVID-19 Pandemic" (2020)

Reference work entry - no author

COVID-19 pandemic. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved May 30, 2020, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/COVID-19_pandemic

Tip: Online works such as wikis or dictionaries are continuously updated. If entries are not archived, use “n.d.” as the year of publication and include a retrieval date.

Parenthetical in-text: ("COVID-19 Pandemic," n.d.)

Narrative in-text: "COVID-19 Pandemic" (n.d.)

Dictionary entry- group author

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Heuristic. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved April 4, 2020, from http://www.merriam-

          webster.com/dictionary/heuristic

Parenthetical in-text: (Merriam-Webster, n.d.)

Narrative in-text: Merriam-Webster (n.d.)

Feather Icon
Selkirk College acknowledges the traditional territories of the Sinixt (Lakes), the Syilx (Okanagan), the Ktunaxa and the Secw├ępemc (Shuswap) Peoples.
Selkirk College Logo